Monday, March 8, 2010

10K wins for Molosky and Rosen

Outrunning 135 other athletes, Vince Molosky won the fifth annual Thomasville Road Baptist Church 10K in Tallahassee on Saturday morning, 6 March 2010. Molosky crossed the finish line in 34:51, almost half a kilometer ahead of runner-up and top master Tony Guillen, who ran 36:34. Molosky's time is the second best ever for the TRBC 10K, while Guillen's 36:34 is a masters' record for the event. Sheryl Rosen was the top woman in the 10K on Saturday, finishing fourth overall in 39:03, just over a minute ahead of women's runner-up Lisa Johnson, who was sixth overall in 40:04. Both Rosen and Johnson shattered the women's course record of 41:38, set in 2009 by Kelsey Scheitlin. The top woman master runner was Thomasville, Georgia's Mary Anne Grayson, 16th overall in 43:13.

In the associated 5K event, Amy Hines blazed to a 18:39 victory. The next runner in was the men's winner, Jordan Merrick, in 20:13. Jeff Bowman was the top master, third overall in 21:01, while women's master honors on the short course went to Ginger Farrell, 23rd overall in 26:57.

Both the 10K and the 5K started on the grounds of Thomasville Road Baptist Church at 8:30am, when a light frost was still on the ground. By the second kilometer, Molosky and Guillen were leading the field, closely shadowed by Amy Hines. Jason Graham (third overall in 38:55) was a bit farther back, setting the pace for Rosen and Johnson, as well as Reid Vannoy (fifth overall in 39:57). After two kilometers, Hines turned off onto the 5K course, Molosky ran away from Guillen, and Rosen ran away from Johnson.

Winners of the TRBC 10K, 2006 - 2010
2006Chris Holland (35:29)Debbie LaMarche (46:39)
2007Vince Molosky (35:09)Seeley Lovett (41:43)
2008Daniel Crane (36:08)Katrina Unglaub (43:33)
2009David Altmaier (34:14)Kelsey Scheitlin (41:38)
2010Vince Molosky (34:51)Sheryl Rosen (39:03)


No comments:

Post a Comment