Saturday, May 14, 2011

Tulip Trot honors for Molosky and Zeiler

Vince Molosky followed up his April win in the Tails and Trails 10K with a successful title defense at the second annual Tulip Trot 5K. Molosky ran 16:53 for first place in the Saturday, 14 May 2011 race in Tallahassee's Tom Brown Park. Lindsay Zeiler added to her own April victory at the Palace Saloon 5K with a women's division win at the Tulip Trot, running 18:03 to shatter Shana Ryberg's event record of 21:12. Jack McDermott was the top male master, placing fourth overall in 17:58. Paula O'Neill repeated as the fastest woman master, running a personal best time of 22:10.

The race started at 8:00am on the Goose Pond Trail in Tom Brown Park, near Pavilion 13. Almost immediately Molosky went to the front of the field. Wakulla High distance runner Stanley Linton tried to keep pace with Molosky, but fell behind after less than a kilometer. In the third spot, Jack McDermott stalked them both. Austin Stevens quietly moved into fourth, then started making up ground on McDermott during the second kilometer. The third kilometer saw Molosky still securely in the lead, but Stevens had moved up past McDermott and had Linton in his sights. Molosky took first, while in the closing stages of the race Stevens overtook Linton to finish runner-up thirty seconds back in 17:23. Linton hung on to third, holding off McDermott 17:51 to 17:58.

Lindsay Zeiler just ran faster than the other women in the race, steadily pulling away from runner-up Shery Rosen and winning 18:03 to 19:06. Brook Pace and Marietta Colberg ran together through the first two kilometers, but after that Pace pulled ahead to take third in the women's competition in 21:23, while Colberg was fourth in 21:50. At 22:10 top woman master Paula O'Neill was the next woman finisher.

The tulip in Tulip Trot is not there just for alliteration, or as a representative spring flower. The red tulip is the symbol of Parkinson disease awareness, and the Tulip Trot is a benefit for the North Florida Parkinson Awareness Group and Parkinson Choir at Tallahassee Memorial HealthCare. The Tulip Trot 5K was first held in 2010; Vince Molosky (16:36) and Shana Ryberg (21:12) won the inaugural race. 323 athletes finished the 2011 race.

Top Ten Men, 2011 Tulip Trot 5K
  1. 16:53 Vince Molosky (M, 31)
  2. 17:23 Austin Stevens (M, 18)
  3. 17:51 Stanley Linton (M, 17)
  4. 17:58 Jack McDermott (M, 42)
  5. 18:50 Matt Kirschner (M, 23)
  6. 18:59 Cory Gerbrandt (M, 34)
  7. 19:29 Mike Peymann (M, 48)
  8. 20:16 David Landis (M, 52)
  9. 20:19 David Yon (M, 55)
  10. 20:22 Mike LaBossiere (M, 45)

Top Ten Women, 2011 Tulip Trot 5K
  1. 18:03 Lindsay Zeiler (F, 26)
  2. 19:06 Sheryl Rosen (F, 27)
  3. 21:23 Brook Pace (F, 31)
  4. 21:50 Marietta Colberg (F, 39)
  5. 22:10 Paula O'Neill (F, 49)
  6. 22:53 Laura McDermott (F, 31)
  7. 23:07 Katie Howard (F, 20)
  8. 23:26 Karima Anderson (F, 24)
  9. 23:37 Fran McLean (F, 53)
  10. 26:00 Beth House (F, 41)


No comments:

Post a Comment