Sunday, August 11, 2013

Carmichael and Cox seize Sizzler 5K titles

St. George Island Sizzler 5KIn 16 years, no one has ever accused the Tates Hell Track Club of misrepresentation when it comes to the name of their summer race, the St. George Island Sizzler 5K. But just to make sure, in 2012 race director Hobson Fulmer moved the event from the hot month of June to the hotter month of August. As an addition guarantee, he changed the starting time from 7:30 PM to 6:00 PM. You wouldn't want those temperatures to start going down at race time, would you?

So for the 16th annual race on 10 August 2013, it was hot. Sizzling, even. You have to grant the Tates Hell Track Club that.

Caleb CarmichaelNot that there really is a Tates Hell Track Club. Or is there? On the starting line of this year's Sizzler, Hobson Fulmer announced to the crowd, "You are now all members of the Tates Hell Track Club!" So credit the ethereal organization with 318 new members--350 if you also include the runners in the one-mile fun run from half an hour earlier.

Moments after learning from Fulmer that they had just joined Franklin County's foremost athletic organization, the runners were set loose to head east on Pine Street. A quarter mile after the start, University of West Florida cross-country coach Caleb Carmichael was setting the pace. Stanley Linton, runner-up in the 2012 Sizzler, was right with Carmichael, as was David Hein. By the mile mark, just after the runners started back west on Gorrie Drive, Carmichael had opened up a gap on Linton. Hein was another 20 seconds back and fading, having just given up third place to Jonathan Ross. In fifth place, Jack Redwing also had the struggling Hein in his sights.

Stanley Linton
At about halfway the race went by Lighthouse Park. Caleb Carmichael was running strong, appearing to have broken the race open. Stanley Linton was still in second, but steadily falling farther behind, although he remained 20 seconds up on Jonathan Ross. Ross was being stalked by Jack Redwing, who had already put away David Hein.

Jack KlatskyThe second half of the 5K was all Carmichael's. The UWF coach built up a lead of nearly 400 meters, crossing the finish line in 16:16 as the 2013 Sizzler champion--adding a third Sizzler title to his wins in 2003 and 2004. Behind Carmichael, Jack Redwing had picked off Jonathan Ross and was starting to move up on second place and Stanley Linton. Redwing closed to within eight seconds, but Linton made it home in second place at 17:25, while Redwing settled for third in 17:33. Michael Martinez moved up to fourth during the second half of the race, finishing in 17:54 as the first master runner.

Renee Cox
The Sizzler's defending female champion was on the starting line in 2013--thirteen-year-old Polina Bondarenko was back from Illinois. Bondarenko led the women's competition early, but by the mile mark Tallahassee's Renee Cox had taken over. At midway Bondarenko was fighting with Wakulla High's Madison Harris for second place while Cox cruised up front. Cox went on to take the women's title, finishing 24th overall in 20:28. Madison Harris was the second female finisher, placing 28th overall in 21:03. Bondarenko improved her 2012 time more than half a minute, running 21:22 to finish 34th overall and third in the female standings. Thomasville, Georgia athlete Mary Anne Grayson finished at the top of the master women's standings; Grayson ran 22:18 and placed 44th overall, the sixth woman in the race.

The field of 318 finishers was a record crowd for the Sizzler, a benefit for the Franklin County Humane Society.

Top Ten Males, 2013 St. George Island Sizzler 5K
  1. Michael Martinez16:16 ~ Caleb Carmichael (M, 29) Pensacola, FL
  2. 17:25 ~ Stanley Linton (M, 19) Crawfordville, FL
  3. 17:33 ~ Jack Redwing (M, 27) Tallahassee, FL
  4. 17:54 ~ Michael Martinez (M, 47) Tallahassee, FL
  5. 17:58 ~ Paul Guyas (M, 35) Tallahassee, FL
  6. 18:03 ~ Jonathan Ross (M, 27) Raleigh, NC
  7. 18:06 ~ Jay Wallace (M, 49) Tallahassee, FL
  8. 18:24 ~ Brian Sites (M, 48) Port St. Joe, FL
  9. 18:24 ~ Brian Molen (M, 37) Tallahassee, FL
  10. 18:27 ~ David Hein (M, 31)

Top Ten Females, 2013 St. George Island Sizzler 5K
  1. Madison Harris20:28 ~ Renee Cox (F, 26) Tallahassee, FL
  2. 21:03 ~ Madison Harris (F, 17) Panacea, FL
  3. 21:22 ~ Polina Bondarenko (F, 13) River Forest, IL
  4. 22:09 ~ Jessica Colbert (F, 31)
  5. 22:12 ~ Juanita Chalmers (F, 31) Tallahassee, FL
  6. 22:18 ~ Mary Anne Grayson (F, 47) Thomasville, GA
  7. 22:47 ~ Angela Dempsey (F, 45) Tallahassee, FL
  8. 23:07 ~ Paula O' Neill (F, 52) Tallahassee, FL
  9. 23:09 ~ Martha Bademan (F, 29) Tallahassee, FL
  10. 23:13 ~ Lindsey Rodrigue (F, 37) Tallahassee, FL

St. George Island Sizzler 5K Champions, 1997-2013
21 June 199717:36, Tim Unger21:40, Julie Clark
13 June 199816:09, Gary Droze22:53, Donna Finney
12 June 199917:05, Tim Unger19:24, Summer Calder
10 June 200016:07, Gary Droze21:18, Julie Clark
15 June 200215:46, Lee Willis18:43, Luanne Coulter
21 June 200316:44, Caleb Carmichael20:45, Jane Johnson
12 June 200416:42, Caleb Carmichael19:48, Kara Newell
18 June 200516:02, Alex Miletich20:53, Angela Dempsey
24 June 200617:24, Robert Beazley18:39, Kara Newell
23 June 200717:02, Jasen Fulghum20:41, Jane Johnson
28 June 200816:44, Tripp Southerland19:11, Stephanie Liles
27 June 200916:53, John Robida19:47, Kelsey Scheitlin
26 June 201019:06, Carl Nordhielm22:06, Nancy Stedman
25 June 201117:06, Brandon Hough22:44, Nicole Reichenbach
11 August 201216:25, Vince Molosky21:58, Polina Bondarenko
10 August 201316:16, Caleb Carmichael20:28, Renee Cox
The 1997 race was called the Summer Island 5K.


No comments:

Post a Comment