Sunday, June 1, 2014

Sullivan and Sherron come back for seconds at Potluck

Gulf Winds Track Club's 2014 Potluck Cross-Country RaceAfter being on the Canadian Olympic team three times for the 1500-meter run, Kevin Sullivan is usually thought of as a miler. He was probably already marked as such when he went sub-4:00 in the mile as a high school athlete. To regard Sullivan as only a miler, though, is to ignore his accomplishments as a cross-country runner. While competing for the University of Michigan, Sullivan won four Big Ten Conference cross-country championships between 1993 and 1997. He raced for Canada at the World Cross-Country Championships seven times from 1999 to 2006.

Sullivan is now looking at a new collection of cross-country titles, winning his second straight Potluck Four-Miler in Tallahassee’s Phipps Park on Saturday evening, 31 May 2014.

Kevin SullivanGulf Winds Track Club's 17th annual Potluck Run started from the Meridian Road Youth Sports Complex just after 6:00 PM. "This may actually be a bit longer than four miles," warned race director David Yon. Indeed it was. The runners ended up going close to 4.3 miles. Anticipating extra mileage, the athletes set off. By the time the runners had traversed the Meadows Soccer Complex and were wandering the Phipps Park trail network, Kevin Sullivan of Capital City Runners and Chris Lake were out in front of the rest of the field. Back on the trails, Sullivan ran away from Lake. Emerging from the woods, Sullivan crossed the finish line in front of Forestmeadows Athletic Center with a 300-yard lead. His time for the distance--which may have been 4.3 miles--was 23:34. Finishing second, Lake's time was 24:41. Nate Kaiser was fourth in 25:25. Vince Molosky held off Zach Deveau to take fifth, 25:46 to 25:50.

Katie SherronIn the women's competition, Renee Cox made it into the soccer fields ahead of the rest of the women's field, but not far ahead of 2012 champion Katie Sherron. Sherron overtook Cox, breaking away on the trails beyond the soccer complex. At Forestmeadows and the finish line Sherron collected her second Potluck women's title, placing 30th overall in 32:17. Cox was the women's runner-up, 34th overall in 32:47. Mary Vancore was the third woman finisher and top woman master, coming in 41st overall in 33:53.

Chris LakeUniquely in the area, the Potluck race also includes a prediction competition, rewarding the runners who most accurately predict their finish time. Because of this, Potluck competitors have to run the race without watches. With the race more than 500 yards longer than the advertised distance, though, it’s hard to say just how meaningful the prediction event was this year. Nevertheless, Jason Bowman of Tallahassee had the best prediction, running just a little more than two seconds faster than the time he had predicted.

165 athletes finished the race. In spite of dire predictions of rain, the course was almost too dry, with poor footing due to loose sand in parts. If anyone was hoping for mud, they can try again next year. The race has been run in a downpour before, and it will be again one of these years. When it comes to running trails, we all have to take potluck.

Top Ten Men, Gulf Winds Track Club's 2014 Potluck Four Mile
    Nate Kaiser
  1. 23:34 ~ Kevin Sullivan (M, 40) Tallahassee, FL
  2. 24:41 ~ Chris Lake (M, 26)
  3. 25:25 ~ Nate Kaiser (M, 34)
  4. 25:46 ~ Vince Molosky (M, 34)
  5. 25:50 ~ Zach Deveau (M, 26)
  6. 27:03 ~ Peter Kaus (M, 30)
  7. 27:07 ~ Michael Martinez (M, 48)
  8. 27:18 ~ Carl Nordhielm (M, 51)
  9. 27:34 ~ Tony Guillen (M, 45)
  10. 27:41 ~ Geb Kiros (M, 47)

Top Ten Women, Gulf Winds Track Club's 2014 Potluck Four Mile
    Renee Cox
  1. 32:17 ~ Katie Sherron (F, 32) Tallahassee, FL
  2. 32:47 ~ Renee Cox (F, 26)
  3. 33:53 ~ Mary Vancore (F, 50)
  4. 34:19 ~ Urska Dobersek (F, 31)
  5. 34:24 ~ Juanita Chalmers (F, 31)
  6. 35:21 ~ Julie Clark (F, 52)
  7. 35:24 ~ Angela Dempsey (F, 45)
  8. 35:39 ~ Jennifer Shafer (F, 46)
  9. 35:55 ~ Shannon McNees (F, 43)
  10. 36:09 ~ Cora Atkinson (F, 19)

Potluck champions, 1998-2014
20 June 1998

5 June 199929:29, Zack Heissner32:26, Sarah Docter-Williams
3 June 200024:42 Paul Hoover25:59, Kim Wynn
2 June 200124:59, Reid Vannoy25:33, Sarah Docter-Williams
8 June 200222:47, Ryan Deak26:04, Sarah Docter-Williams
7 June 200325:17, Tim Unger25:36, Sarah Docter-Williams
5 June 200423:05, Caleb Carmichael25:59, Kara Newell
4 June 200523:22, Caleb Carmichael27:21, Kara Newell
3 June 200623:06, Jared Black25:58, Sheryl Rosen
2 June 200724:26, Tony Guillen27:36, Jane Johnson
7 June 200823:00, John Robida25:09, Sarah Docter-Williams
13 June 200922:40, Jay Wallace27:05, Micah Adriani
5 June 201022:14, Matt Mizereck27:39, Micah Adriani
4 June 201122:57, Vince Molosky26:33, Summer Calder
2 June 201222:33, Vince Molosky27:18, Katie Showman
1 June 201321:17, Kevin Sullivan26:24, Micah Adriani
31 May 201423:34, Kevin Sullivan32:17, Katie Sherron
The race was five miles in 1998 and 1999, and four miles thereafter.


No comments:

Post a Comment