Thursday, September 6, 2012

Swift Creek girls and Raa boys battle to victory at Tom Brown

Caroline Grace BrantleyLeon County Schools opened the 2012 middle school cross-country season on Wednesday, 5 September 2012, when Swift Creek Middle School hosted their fifth annual Battle at Tom Brown. It was a day for defending county champions, as the Swift Creek girls and the August Raa boys both ran to team titles. Audrey Dogan of Raa won the girls' two-mile race, and Raa's Matthew Cashin outran the field in the boys' two-mile event.

Audrey DoganCompetition commenced with the girls' race at 6:00 PM. A quarter mile into the race, Audrey Dogan of Raa was leading, but Montford's Caroline Brantley was just a few strides back, and so was the defending Leon County champion, Zoe Sheldon of Swift Creek. As the race developed, Dogan, Brantley, and Sheldon left the rest of the field behind. Brantley passed Dogan, moving into the lead. 200 yards out from the finish Brantley was ten yards up on Dogan, with Sheldon another 20 yards back. Then, rounding a bend of the Goose Pond Trail, the leaders sighted the finish line. They started to kick. Dogan fought even with Brantley, then moved ahead to win the race by less than a second, 13:34 to 13:35. Sheldon was third in 13:50. Led by Brantley's second-place finish, Montford put three runners in the top ten, but so did Swift Creek. The team totals came down to the fourth and fifth runners, where Swift Creek eked out a narrow victory over Montford, 50 points to 54.

Team Standings, GirlsSwift Creek girls' cross-country team
  1. Swift Creek Middle School, 50 points
  2. Montford Middle School, 54
  3. Fairview Middle School, 73
  4. Augusta Raa Middle School, 79
  5. Deer Lake Middle School, 99
  6. Elizabeth Cobb Middle School, 170

Top Ten Girls
  1. Top Eight runners in the girls' race13:33.32 ~ Audrey Dogan (Raa) 8
  2. 13:34.20 ~ Caroline Grace Brantley (Montford) 8
  3. 13:49.87 ~ Zoe Sheldon (Swift Creek) 8
  4. 14:05.05 ~ Saige Kemeny (Montford) 6
  5. 14:11.37 ~ Ana Wallace (Deer Lake) 7
  6. 14:28.25 ~ Katie Jones (Swift Creek) 8
  7. 14:28.66 ~ Arianna Neeley (Swift Creek) 7
  8. 14:45.04 ~ Bridget Isenberg (Fairview) 8
  9. 14:59.62 ~ Jianni McDole (Deer Lake) 8
  10. 15:14.39 ~ Emily Culley (Montford) 6

2012 Battle at Tom Brown boys raceRaa's Matthew Cashin had the lead in the boys' race just 100 yards after the start, after which he never had to answer another challenge. Cashin ran alone to a 12:17 victory in the two-mile race, finishing over 100 yards ahead of the second-place runner, Matthew Newland of Montford. A few steps behind Newland's 12:40, Swift Creek's Stephen Veliz was third in 12:44. The team title was still to be decided. Raa, the 2011 Leon County Schools champs, put three runners in the top ten. Swift Creek, the 2011 Battle at Tom Brown title holders, grabbed two spots in the top ten and put their third and fourth runners across the line before Raa's fourth runner. But when the points were tallied, Raa held a slim 54 to 58 advantage over Swift Creek, winning the 2012 Battle at Tom Brown.

Matthew Cashin
The 2012 Leon County Schools middle school cross-country season continues on Wednesday, September 12 with the Fort Braden Middle School Meet, on Thursday, September 20 with the Everhart Invitational at Gretchen Everhart School, and concludes on Wednesday, September 26 with the LCS Championship Meet at Apalachee Regional Park.

Team Standings, Boys
  1. The 2012 Battle at Tom Brown boys' team champs from Raa Middle SchoolAugusta Raa Middle School, 54 points
  2. Swift Creek Middle School, 58
  3. Montford Middle School, 72
  4. Fairview Middle School, 87
  5. Deer Lake Middle School, 125
  6. Elizabeth Cobb Middle School, 161
  7. Griffin Middle School, 166
  8. Fort Braden Middle School, 231

Top Ten Boys
  1. Top Ten Boys12:16.23 ~ Matthew Cashin (Raa) 8
  2. 12:39.70 ~ Matthew Newland (Montford) 7
  3. 12:43.08 ~ Stephen Veliz (Swift Creek) 8
  4. 12:50.41 ~ Joseph Jones (Fairview) 7
  5. 12:55.87 ~ Jacob Dodson (Raa) 7
  6. 12:58.66 ~ Shane Suchoki (Swift Creek) 8
  7. 13:07.20 ~ Etavious Milton (Griffin) 7
  8. 13:12.30 ~ Ricky Mobley (Fairview) 8
  9. 13:13.03 ~ Daniel Sweeny (Montford) 7
  10. 13:15.40 ~ Zachary Smith (Raa) 7

Battle at Tom Brown champions, 2008-2012
18 SEP 2008
11:57, Will Henderson (Raa)
12:05, CeCe Williams (Deer Lake)
19 SEP 2009
11:57, Wil Luca (Raa)
12:34, CeCe Williams (Deer Lake)
16 SEP 2010
11:45, Wil Luca (Raa)
14:24, Rebecca Clendinen (Raa)
7 SEP 2011
11:45, Evan Francis (Raa)
13:58, Cheyenne Hildinger (Swift Creek)
5 SEP 2012
12:17, Matthew Cashin (Raa)
13:34, Audrey Dogan (Raa)


1 comment: