Saturday, October 27, 2012

First Boston win for Chris Lake; sixth for Sheryl Rosen

Chris LakeEach year on "the last Saturday in October," the village of Boston, Georgia hosts hundreds of athletes. It's no reflection on Boston's hospitality that at 8:00 AM those guests start running out of town as fast as they can go. In fact, those runners will be back in town 13.1 miles later--it's Boston's annual half-marathon race, the Boston (mini) Marathon.

2012 Boston (mini) MarathonUniversity of Florida medical student Chris Lake was the first runner to make it back to Boston this year, finishing two kilometers ahead of the next runner in 73:46. Tallahassee master runner Tony Guillen placed second, running 81:31. Sheryl Rosen won her first women's division crown at Boston in 2006 as a law student at FSU; she was a practicing lawyer this year when she won her sixth title, finishing sixth overall in 83:27. Does anyone want to bet on Rosen sitting on the bench before her last Boston win?

Sheryl RosenChris Lake is planning on running a marathon this coming spring in a different Boston, but after the mini Marathon he was admiring Georgia's Boston. "I didn't know the town was 175 years old," remarked Lake. During the last 34 of those years, Boston staged 33 annual mini-Marathons, only skipping 1987. Bruce Carpenter of Gainesville's Florida Track Club won the first Boston Mini in 1979; Lake was the first Gainesville resident to hold the race title since then. Lake plans on running another half-marathon in Pensacola on November 11, but his focus is on a November 22 race in Tallahassee. "I want to be ready for the Turkey Trot," said Lake.

2012 Boston (mini) MarathonThe Boston Mini course hasn't changed since the 1979 race; six-and-a-half miles on Old US 84 toward Dixie, then turn around and return to Boston. Chris Lake led the charge out of Boston toward Dixie in the 2012 event, followed by Tony Guillen. Guillen didn't attempt to stay with Lake, and trailed by 2:40 when the runners reached the halfway point just west of Dixie.  Another 1:40 back, Sheryl Rosen, Andrew Smyth, Geb Kiros, and Jack McDermott shared third place. On the return to Boston, Lake only got farther ahead, cruising to a 73:46 victory. McDermott took sole possession of third and began to close in on Guillen, but Guillen beat him to the finish line, 81:31 to 81:55. Smyth ran 82:31 to finish fourth. Valdosta middle-school cross-country coach Ryan Kelly overtook Rosen and Kiros to take fifth in 82:55. Rosen secured the women's title with a sixth-place 83:27, and Kiros ended up seventh in 83:33.

Top Ten Men, 33rd annual Boston (mini) Marathon
    Tony Guillen
  1. 1:13:46 ~ Chris Lake (M, 23) Tallahassee, FL
  2. 1:21:30 ~ Tony Guillen (M, 43) Tallahassee, FL
  3. 1:21:54 ~ Jack McDermott (M, 43) Tallahassee, FL
  4. 1:22:30 ~ Andrew Smyth (M, 25) Tallahassee, FL
  5. 1:22:54 ~ Ryan Kelly (M, 33) Valdosta, GA
  6. 1:24:14 ~ Geb Kiros (M, 46) Tallahassee, FL
  7. 1:25:49 ~ Matt Triick (M, 29) Perry, GA
  8. 1:26:57 ~ John Robida (M, 32) Tampa, FL
  9. 1:27:36 ~ Tad David (M, 43) Tallahassee, FL
  10. 1:28:54 ~ Paul Guyas (M, 35) Tallahassee, FL

Top Ten Women, 33rd annual Boston (mini) Marathon
    Laura McDermott
  1. 1:23:26 ~ Sheryl Rosen (F, 28) Tallahassee, FL
  2. 1:29:12 ~ Katie Showman (F, 31) Tallahassee, FL
  3. 1:41:05 ~ Laura McDermott (F, 33) Tallahassee, FL
  4. 1:43:17 ~ Kristine Cox (F, 35) Tallahassee, FL
  5. 1:44:07 ~ Nancy Stedman (F, 50) Tallahassee, FL
  6. 1:44:44 ~ Lori Richardson (F, 26) Thomasville
  7. 1:44:56 ~ Juanita Chalmers (F, 30) Tallahassee, FL
  8. 1:46:33 ~ Nikky Manausa (F, 31) Tallahassee, FL
  9. 1:46:45 ~ Stephanie McDuffie (F, 34) Rochelle
  10. 1:47:23 ~ Mandy Hudson (F, 35) Tallahassee, FL

Boston (mini) Marathon Champions, 1979-2012
27 October 201273:46 Chris Lake83:27 Sheryl Rosen
29 October 201169:29 Kevin Sullivan82:10 Sheryl Rosen
30 October 201075:13 Vince Molosky86:59 Lisa Johnson
31 October 200979:49 Vince Molosky87:10 Sheryl Rosen
25 October 200881:50 Myles Gibson86:19 Sheryl Rosen
27 October 200776:18 John Seppala87:35 Sheryl Rosen
28 October 200681:18 Michael Martinez82:49 Sheryl Rosen
29 October 200581:11 Myles Gibson96:32 Jennifer Kilinski
30 October 200483:55 David Yon91:57 Jane Johnson
25 October 200376:20 Myles Gibson97:52 Lisa Whitworth
26 October 200284:38 Mike Posey92:41 Carrie Weyant
27 October 200182:36 Steven Walker95:24 Carrie Weyant
28 October 200075:28 Art Remillard83:20 Sarah Docter-Williams
30 October 199978:22 Corey Cherr95:28 Julie Carico
31 October 199880:25 Rusty Jones97:01 Peggy Simpson
25 October 199781:21 Rusty Jones82:55 Michelle LeFleur
26 October 199676:26 Jeff Nielsen86:12 Carrie Weyant
28 October 199578:21 Paul Hough91:01 Katherine Perez
29 October 199472:42 Paul Hough92:34 Diane Turchick
30 October 199375:33 Paul Hough86:09 Carrie Weyant
31 October 199277:45 Steve Carney86:05 Carrie Hunnicutt
26 October 1991

27 October 199079:33 Brian Murphy86:44 Donna Miller
28 October 198971:23 Alex Walmsley93:10 Mary Jean Yon
29 October 198874:22 T. C. Carroll1:41:54 Nancy Widener
1987no race heldno race held
8 November 1986

11 November 198567:30 Herb Wills88:06 Patti Sudduth
27 October 198474:21 Scott HinkleDot Skofronick
29 October 198370:25 Noel Shuman87:01 Patti Sudduth
30 October 198267:48 Noel Shuman91:41 Donna Murdock
31 October 198169:57 Gary Slayton88:56 Lt. Vickie Monroe
25 October 198071:49 Gary Slayton96:03 Judy Taylor
27 October 197970:52 Bruce Carpenter1:47:13 Robin Anderson
Got any information on the missing years? Let me know! Send an
e-mail to, or leave a comment below.


No comments:

Post a Comment