Saturday, January 10, 2015

Cox and Rosen heat up the roads at a cool Bowlegs

Vince Molosky and Stephen CoxIt wasn't freezing on Saturday morning, 10 January 2015, at Gulf Winds Track Club's 31st annual Bowlegs 5K Run For Scholarship. Your chemistry instructor will tell you that the temperature has to be no higher than 32 °F to be freezing, and it was at least 35 or 36 in Tallahassee, Florida, when the race started at 9:00 AM. It was cool and clear, though, and Maclay School cross-country coach Stephen Cox took advantage of the conditions to blaze a winning time of 16:08 in the 3.1-mile race around Innovation Park. Tallahassee lawyer Sheryl Rosen ran a similarly impressive 18:35, placing sixth overall.

Stephen Cox is no stranger to the Bowlegs 5K. In fact he won the race in 2010. In the early going of the 2015 race, though, he found himself fighting for the lead with the 2011 Bowlegs winner, Vince Molosky. Molosky, who first ran the Bowlegs 5K in 2008, also had three runner-up finishes in the race. If anyone had an edge in Bowlegs experience, it was Molosky.

"It's been...three in a row?" said Molosky. "The timing is usually good and it's a good course."

Stephen CoxIt was close through the first kilometer. Cox broke away during the second kilometer. By the turn-around on the third kilometer Cox had what looked like an insurmountable lead. It was. He went on to win in 16:08. Molosky ran 17:24 for another second-place Bowlegs finish, his fourth. Michael Martinez ran home in 18:04 to take third place and the top master spot.

Sheryl Rosen's history at Bowlegs goes back even farther than that of either Stephen Cox or Vince Molosky. Rosen first won the Bowlegs women's title in 2007 as a student at the Florida State University College of Law, then again in 2011 as a fledgling member of the bar. After another four-year break she was back at Bowlegs in 2015. Rosen started out fast, faster than any other athlete in the women's field could run.

"I was testing out the waters today," said Rosen. "I ran the first mile in 5:53, the second mile in 5:53, and then I slowed down the last mile."

Sheryl RosenIn Rosen's defense, the third mile at Bowlegs takes you from the banks of Munson Slough to the high ground where the FAMU / FSU College of Engineering stands--i.e., from one of the lowest points on the course to one of the highest points on the course. That mile also includes a hill that athletes have described in impolite terms for years, even when Innovation Park was still the FSU Dairy Farm. Rosen still weathered that mile well enough to finish the race sixth overall, winning the women's competition in 18:35. It was the fastest run by a woman at Bowlegs in ten years. You'd have to go back to 2005, when Sarah Docter-Williams ran 18:10, to find a faster women's performance.

Swift Creek Middle School cross-country ace Alyson Churchill was second in the women's standings, placing 25th overall in 21:11. Nikky Manausa was the third woman finisher, 30th overall in 21:39, and Elizabeth Jackson was the fourth woman, 31st overall in 21:50. Paula O'Neill was top woman master, the fifth female and 36th overall in 22:11.

132 athletes finished the 2015 Bowlegs 5K Run For Scholarship, Gulf Winds Track Club's second race of the year. The Bowlegs benefits the scholarship fund of the Friends and Faculty Club of Florida State University.

Top Ten Men, Gulf Winds Track Club's 2015 Bowlegs 5K Run For Scholarship
  1. 16:08 ~ Stephen Cox (M, 31)Michael Martinez
  2. 17:24 ~ Vince Molosky (M, 35)
  3. 18:04 ~ Michael Martinez (M, 49)
  4. 18:18 ~ Reikan Lin (M, 24)
  5. 18:32 ~ Eric Godin (M, 30)
  6. 18:54 ~ David Graf (M, 38)
  7. 18:54 ~ Mike Peymann (M, 52)
  8. 18:55 ~ Aaron Taylor (M, 21)
  9. 19:24 ~ Jack Redwing (M, 28)
  10. 19:24 ~ Anthony Kuchera (M, 28)

Top Ten Women, Gulf Winds Track Club's 2015 Bowlegs 5K Run For Scholarship
  1. 18:35 ~ Sheryl Rosen (F, 30)Alyson Churchill
  2. 21:11 ~ Alyson Churchill (F, 12)
  3. 21:39 ~ Nikky Manausa (F, 33)
  4. 21:50 ~ Elizabeth Jackson (F, 18)
  5. 22:11 ~ Paula O' Neill (F, 53)
  6. 22:16 ~ Kate Chunka (F, 31)
  7. 22:19 ~ Emma Spencer (F, 33)
  8. 22:55 ~ Michelle Kuchera (F, 29)
  9. 22:56 ~ Megan Churchill (F, 12)
  10. 24:01 ~ Kate Krizner (F, 10)

Bowlegs 5K Run For Scholarship winners, 1985 - 2015
16 February 198516:44, Scott Hinkle18:48, Darien Andreu153
15 February 198616:12, Rick Miller20:00, Janice Hochstein150
7 February 198715:54, Randy Jordan20:00, Sarah Patterson186
13 February 198816:05, Rick Miller20:02, Janice Hochstein220
4 February 198915:44, Rick Miller20:02, Barbara Balzer165
10 February 199017:28, Felton Wright19:30, Paula Johnson112
16 February 199116:15, Bill Crooks20:37, Tina Davies67
15 February 199215:51, Mike Macinko18:37, Paula Johnson81
20 February 199315:33, Gary Droze19:33, Carrie Hunnicutt143
19 February 199416:02, Phillip Healy22:18, Chateau Mangaroo83
18 February 199515:41, Reid Montini18:09, Jane Johnson158
17 February 199616:12, Tim Simpkins19:33, Janice Hochstein77
15 February 199715:45, Gary Droze18:20, Jane Johnson163
14 February 199816:23, Damian Wilson17:47, Sarah Docter-Williams104
13 February 199915:57, Robert Pautenius16:54, Breeda Dennehy-Willis77
12 February 200015:49, Aaron Scheer20:42, Laurel Slyck83
10 February 200116:48, Gary Droze18:18, Sarah Docter-Williams
9 February 200216:20, Thomas Kunish20:20, Allison Eagen77
8 February 200316:56, Paul Orfield21:15, Fran McLean76
21 February 200417:06, Adam David Churchill18:21, Breeda Dennehy-Willis82
15 January 200517:42, Art Remillard18:10, Sarah Docter-Williams72
14 January 200616:43, Shawn Patterson19:22, Stephanie Liles152
20 January 200717:37, Matt Mizereck19:02, Sheryl Rosen109
19 January 200816:32, Tripp Southerland21:39, Carly Thomas121
10 January 200917:59, Tim Unger20:09, Micah Adriani117
9 January 201017:21, Stephen Cox21:01, Lauren Switzer84
8 January 201116:38, Vince Molosky19:26, Sheryl Rosen204
7 January 201217:10, Stanley Linton19:27, Katie Showman166
5 January 201316:12, Stanley Linton20:19, Katie Showman110
18 January 201415:46, Stanley Linton19:18, Lisa Johnson168
10 January 201516:08, Stephen Cox18:35, Sheryl Rosen132
From 1985 to 1994 the Bowlegs 5K was run on the main campus of Florida State University,
starting and finishing near Tully Gym, on USATF certified course FL88014BH.

From 1995 to 2015 the Bowlegs 5K was run in Innovation Park, starting and finishing near
the College of Engineering on USATF certified course FL95008DL. The course was later
recertified with number FL12001EBM.


No comments:

Post a Comment