Sunday, January 29, 2017

Zamani and Wilkey gallop home first in the Trent Trot

Trent Trot 5KWith the second-place runner a distant 600 meters behind him, Mark Zamani won the eighth annual Trent Trot 5K on a brisk Saturday morning, 28 January 2017. Zamani ran the 3.1 mile course through Tallahassee, Florida's Dublin Downs neighborhood in 16:42. Caitlin Wilkey, a frosh on the Chiles High cross-country team, was the women's champ, placing eighth overall in 20:31.

For Zamani, a Florida State University undergraduate hailing from Connecticut, the race was his first 5K on the streets of Tallahassee, although three months earlier he had run the Rex Cleveland Road Mile in town. Through the spring of 2016, Zamani's racing had been for the cross-country and track teams of Naugatuck High School back home in Connecticut.

Corey Osgood beat out Tony Guillen for the runner-up spot, 18:53 to 18:58. Guillen, the winner of the first Trent Trot 5K in 2009 (when the event was called the Red Fox Trot), was the top master runner in the race.

The Trent Trot 5K started and finished at Roberts Elementary School, which made the race almost a homecoming for Caitlin Wilkey--the women's champ was an alumna of neighboring Montford Middle School, where she ran cross-country and track before entering Chiles. Tallahassee athlete Stacie Elliott finished second to Wilkey in the women's standings and ninth overall in 21:13. Paige Churchill, a sixth-grader on the Swift Creek Middle School cross-country squad, was the third female finisher and 23rd overall in 22:37. Kathy Greene was the top woman master and 31st overall in 24:01.

It may have been cool and breezy, but a crowd still turned out for the 2017 Trent Trot, with 408 athletes finishing the 5K and another 256 completing a one-mile fun run. Both events were chip-timed by Gulf Winds Track Club of Tallahassee.

Top Ten Men, 2017 Trent Trot 5K
  1. 16:42, Mark Zamani (M, 18)
  2. 18:53, Corey Osgood (M, 20)
  3. 18:58, Tony Guillen (M, 48)
  4. 19:13, Hawthorne Hay (M, 14)
  5. 19:41, Joel Piotrowski (M, 47)
  6. 20:30, A.J. Hodges (M, 15)
  7. 20:31, Gary Johnston (M, 42)
  8. 21:18, Abe Hodges (M, 45)
  9. 21:21, Scott Stewart (M, 47)
  10. 21:26, Erik Andersen (M, 34)

Top Ten Women, 2017 Trent Trot 5K
  1. 20:31, Caitlin Wilkey (F, 15)
  2. 21:13, Stacie Elliott (F, 34)
  3. 22:37, Paige Churchill (F, 11)
  4. 23:15, Erica Boccumini (F, 24)
  5. 24:01, Kathy Greene (F, 43)
  6. 24:08, Danielle Shelton (F, 35)
  7. 24:15, Ella Grace Hodges (F, 12)
  8. 24:21, Angela Perry (F, 45)
  9. 24:22, Jensen Reinert (F, 28)
  10. 24:38, Nicole Kelly (F, 12)

Trent Trot 5K winners, 2009 - 2017
17 October 200917:29, Tony Guillen22:22, Cora Atkinson148
29 January 201119:13, Cole Tessier20:48, Laura Hanlon199
28 January 201217:00, Trevor Touchton20:19, Laura Hanlon208
19 January 201316:10, Stanley Linton19:36, Micah Adriani268
25 January 201417:53, Peter Kaus19:16, Lisa Johnson206
24 January 201516:19, Chris Lake18:49, Seeley Gutierrez574
23 January 201617:26, Matt Nazareth19:36, Katie Sherron554
28 January 201716:42, Mark Zamani20:31, Caitlin Wilkey408
From 2009 to 2014 the race was named the Red Fox Trot 5K


No comments:

Post a Comment