Saturday, September 14, 2013

Tyerman lowers Women's Distance Festival 5K record to 16:51

Course records just aren't safe at the Tallahassee Women's Distance Festival 5K. Jackie Drouin set a standard of 17:11 at the annual Gulf Winds Track Club 3.1-mile run in 2011, and it was broken the following year when Georgia Peel ran 17:06. Peel's record likewise fell at the 14 September 2013 race, when Florida State University senior Kayleigh Tyerman lowered the mark to 16:51--one of very few sub-17:00 performances by a woman on the streets of Tallahassee. Meanwhile Kevin Sullivan's 2011 men's course record of 15:00 survived another year as Stanley Linton took the 2013 men's title with a 15:58.

The Women's Distance Festival is unusual among road races in that the women and men start in separate waves, with the women's start scheduled for 8:00 AM and the men's for 8:05. When the women actually started near Optimist Park at 8:06, Kayleigh Tyerman was not among them, having received permission to run in the men's wave. A group of six women quickly established themselves as the front runners in the Tyerman-less wave--Christine Griggs, Kaitlyn Kelly, Sheryl Rosen, Theresa Ristow, Shelby Salimone, and Courtney West. Runners dropped out of the lead group one by one as the race progressed through the streets of Indianhead Acres, till after three kilometers only Theresa Ristow and Sheryl Rosen were left, chased by Kaitlyn Kelly. By a kilometer to go, it was just Rosen and Ristow. Rosen finally got away on the final drive to reach the finish line first in 18:23, with Ristow following in 18:34. Kaitlyn Kelly was next in 18:45, then Shelby Salimone in 19:00 and Christine Griggs in 19:03.

And then three minutes after that, Kayleigh Tyerman, who had started five minutes later with the men, crossed the line with a winning 16:51.

There weren't any surprises like that in the men's competition; all the male athletes started in the same wave, so it was a case of what you see is what you get. What everyone saw was Stanley Linton take the early lead, with John Keenan and Vince Molosky in pursuit. Molosky dropped off to be replaced by Remy Tamer, but Linton continued to set the pace. Keenan was still in striking distance with a kilometer to go, trailing Linton by just five seconds. But Linton opened up a gap during the closing stages of the race, finishing first in the men's standings with a 15:58, while Keenan had to settle for runner-up at 16:19. Stephen Cox was third in 16:27, and Remy Tamer fourth in 16:39, with Vince Molosky fifth in 16:41. Maclay School cross-country coach Gary Droze was the first male master in the race, the ninth man in at 17:24.

Top Ten Women, Gulf Winds Track Club's 2013 Women's Distance Festival
  1. 16:51 ~ Kayleigh Tyerman (F, 24) Tallahassee, FL
  2. 18:23 ~ Sheryl Rosen (F, 29) Tallahassee, FL
  3. 18:34 ~ Teresa Ristow (F, 20) 
  4. 18:45 ~ Kaitlyn Kelly (F, 19) Daytona Beach, FL
  5. 19:00 ~ Shelby Salimone (F, 21) Tallahassee, FL
  6. 19:03 ~ Christine Griggs (F, 19) Ponte Vedra Beach, FL
  7. 19:26 ~ Chantelle Brodie (F, 19) Avondale Estates, GA
  8. 19:34 ~ Adriana Piekarewicz (F, 25) Tallahassee, FL
  9. 19:59 ~ Jensen Swopes (F, 20) Tallahassee, FL
  10. 20:19 ~ Courtney West (F, 18) Tallahassee, FL

Top Ten Men, Gulf Winds Track Club's 2013 Women's Distance Festival
  1. 15:58 ~ Stanley Linton (M, 19) Crawfordville, FL
  2. 16:19 ~ John Keenan (M, 26) Tallahassee, FL
  3. 16:27 ~ Stephen Cox (M, 29) Tallahassee, FL
  4. 16:39 ~ Remy Tamer (M, 24)
  5. 16:41 ~ Vince Molosky (M, 34) Tallahassee, FL
  6. 16:49 ~ Josh Seitz (M, 24) Tallahassee, FL
  7. 16:58 ~ Jack Redwing (M, 27) Tallahassee, FL
  8. 17:12 ~ Chris Rego (M, 24) Tallahassee, FL
  9. 17:24 ~ Gary Droze (M, 52) Tallahassee, FL
  10. 17:33 ~ Michael Martinez (M, 47)

Tallahassee Women's Distance Festival 5K Champions, 1982-2013
24 JUL 198220:14, Cheryl JenningsNo Boys Allowed
23 JUL 198318:33, Barbara BalzerNo Boys Allowed
21 JUL 198418:11, Barbara BalzerNo Boys Allowed
20 JUL 198519:11, Barbara Balzer15:24, Herb Wills
19 JUL 198618:20, Janice Hochstein16:32, Rick Miller
18 JUL 198718:54, Janice Hochstein15:47, Rick Miller
16 JUL 198817:58, Michele Farrell15:09, Jessie Close
15 JUL 198917:20, Sue Addison15:09, Jessie Close
14 JUL 199018:50, Janice Hochstein15:38, Gary Droze
13 JUL 199118:51, Angie Crook15:18, Gary Droze
11 JUL 199217:36, Paula Johnson15:09, Gary Droze
17 JUL 199318:00, Lynda Nilges15:45, Steve Wilcox
1 OCT 199418:06, Jane Johnson15:46, Andy Palmer
7 OCT 199517:47, Jane Johnson15:40, Gary Droze
5 OCT 199618:41, Tracy Pepoon16:34, Tim Simpkins
4 OCT 199717:13, Sarah Docter-Williams16:20, Tim Simpkins
3 OCT 199818:02, Sarah Docter-Williams16:36, Tim Simpkins
2 OCT 199917:31, Sarah Docter-Williams15:37, Lee Willis
7 OCT 200019:18, Kingsley Broughton16:26, Art Remillard
6 OCT 200119:13, Kate Remillard18:06, Reid Vannoy
2 NOV 200220:27, Mari Leitner16:33, Nate Timm
1 NOV 200318:52, Kara Newell17:39, Justin Dickieson
6 NOV 200418:09, Sarah Docter-Williams17:24, Art Remillard
5 NOV 200521:38, Lydia Veal18:16, Jimmy Graham
7 OCT 200618:36, Sheryl Rosen17:55, Tim Unger
15 SEP 200719:02, Sheryl Rosen17:04, Jay Wallace
20 SEP 200818:52, Lisa Johnson17:29, David Altmaier
19 SEP 200919:00, Kelsey Scheitlin16:34, John Robida
18 SEP 201018:39, Lisa Johnson16:34, Vince Molosky
17 SEP 201117:11, Jackie Drouin15:00, Kevin Sullivan
15 SEP 201217:06, Georgia Peel16:03, Chris Rego
14 SEP 201316:51, Kayleigh Tyerman15:58, Stanley Linton


No comments:

Post a Comment