Friday, September 20, 2013

Dodson and Wallace win at Everhart; Swift Creek sweeps the team titles

Ana Wallace and Saige KemenyAfter twice finishing runner-up to Montford's Saige Kemeny, Anna Wallace of Deerlake outran Kemeny 13:13 to 13:19 in the Everhart Invitational middle-school girls' two-mile cross-country race. Matthew Dodson won the following boys' two-mile contest in 11:46, making the Raa eighth-grader a perfect three-for-three on the season. The 26th annual event, held at Gretchen Everhart School, is the oldest race in Leon County Schools' middle-school cross-country season.

The middle-school girls' race started just after the Everhart School half mile run. There was a procession of early leaders, but by the mile mark Emily Molen of Deerlake was setting the pace for the field. Saige Kemeny, the defending champion, and Ana Wallace were just three seconds back. Less than half a mile later Kemeny took charge. Wallace followed while Molen fell back. When the runners returned to the schoolyard with less than a quarter mile to go Kemeny and Wallace were still close, practically side by side. With 200 meters left, Wallace hit a sharp turn just ahead of Kemeny and broke away, charging for the finish line. Kemeny couldn't come up with an adequate response, and Ana Wallace won going away in 13:13. Kemeny was second in 13:19 and Emily Molen third in 13:35. Chase Merrick of Swift Creek was fourth in 13:51, and Swift Creek runners Asta Hemenway (7th, 14:01), Shayla Nguyen (9th, 14:27), and Arianna Neely (10th, 14:27) joined Merrick in the top ten. When Swift Creek's fifth runner, Katherine Witchel (17th, 15:37) crossed the line, the team had 47 points and the third straight win for the 2013 season. Led by Wallace, Deerlake edged Montford for second place, 61 to 63.

Girls' Team Standings, 2013 Everhart InvitationalSwift Creek girls' cross-country team
  1. Swift Creek Middle School, 47
  2. Deerlake Middle School, 61
  3. Montford Middle School, 63
  4. Fairview Middle School, 83
  5. Raa Middle School, 103
  6. Cobb Middle School, 152
  7. Fort Braden Middle School, 225

Top Ten Girls, 2013 Everhart Invitational
  1. 13:12.86 ~ Ana Wallace (Deerlake) 8Everhart Invitational, Top Ten Girls
  2. 13:18.80 ~ Saige Kemeny (Montford) 7
  3. 13:34.08 ~ Emily Molen (Deerlake) 6
  4. 13:50.15 ~ Chase Merrick (Swift Creek) 6
  5. 13:53.27 ~ Grace Jackson (Deerlake) 7
  6. 14:00.33 ~ Emily Culley (Montford) 7
  7. 14:00.50 ~ Asta Hemenway (Swift Creek) 8
  8. 14:19.59 ~ Caitlyn Wilkey (Montford) 6
  9. 14:26.69 ~ Shayla Nguyen (Swift Creek) 8
  10. 14:26.99 ~ Arianna Neely (Swift Creek) 8

Jacob Dodson and Seth KemenyJacob Dodson grabbed the early lead in the boys' race, closely followed by Seth Kemeny of Montford and Benjamin Payne of Swift Creek. By the halfway point of the two-mile race, Dodson and Kemeny had dropped Payne. Dodson continued to set the pace, but Kemeny was right behind him. With just over 200 meters left in the race, Dodson made a move that Kemeny couldn't answer, and Dodson dashed home to win in 11:46. Kemeny took second in 11:51. Robert Nowak of Deerlake overtook Payne during the second mile, taking third in 12:06. Payne was fourth in 12:29. Just as in the girls' race, though, Payne was the first of four Swift Creek runners in the top ten. Joined by Clayton Carlson (7th, 12:43), Dennis Majano (9th, 12:45), Yunus Kovankaya (10th, 12:46), and Franz Roeder (18th, 13:25), Payne led his team to a 48-point total and their first title of the 2013 season. Montford, after winning the team championships at the Fort Braden Run and Mustang Invitational earlier this season, was second with 59 points. Raa took third with 69.

Boys' Team Standings, 2013 Everhart Invitational
Swift Creek boys' cross-country team
  1. Swift Creek Middle School, 48
  2. Montford Middle School, 59
  3. Raa Middle School, 69
  4. Fairview Middle School, 80
  5. Deerlake Middle School, 100
  6. Cobb Middle School, 174
  7. Griffin Middle School, 192

Top Ten Boys, 2013 Everhart Invitational
  1. 11:45.88 ~ Jacob Dodson (Raa) 8TTop Ten Boys
  2. 11:50.54 ~ Seth Kemeny (Montford) 8
  3. 12:05.44 ~ Robert Frank Nowak (Deerlake) 8
  4. 12:28.50 ~ Benjamin Cole Payne (Swift Creek) 8
  5. 12:34.16 ~ Joseph Jones (Fairview) 8
  6. 12:40.70 ~ Tyrese Footman (Fairview) 6
  7. 12:42.79 ~ Clayton Carlson (Swift Creek) 8
  8. 12:43.96 ~ Zachary Smith (Raa) 8
  9. 12:44.55 ~ Dennis Majano (Swift Creek) 8
  10. 12:45.84 ~ Yunus Kovankaya (Swift Creek) 7

Leon County Schools' 2013 middle school cross-country season concludes with the league championship meet on Wednesday, 2 October 2013, at Apalachee Regional Park.

Owl Run Champions, 1988 - 2013
19 SEP 2013Jacob Dodson (Raa) 11:46Ana Wallace (Deerlake) 13:13
20 SEP 2012Matthew Cashin (Raa) 12:01Saige Kemeny (Montford) 13:19
22 SEP 2011Evan Francis (Raa) 11:56Zoe Sheldon (Swift Creek) 13:43
30 SEP 2010Wil Luca (Raa) 11:41Rebecca Clendinen (Raa) 13:57
1 OCT 2009Cade Zimmerman (Deerlake) 11:33Cece Williams (Deerlake) 13:26
25 SEP 2008Will Henderson (Raa) 11:42Cece Williams (Deerlake) 11:56
27 SEP 2007Will Henderson (Raa) 12:11Carly Thomas (Raa) 12:27
28 SEP 2006Will Stanford (Raa) 10:59Summer Shepherd (Raa) 12:59
29 SEP 2005Kurt Dietrich (Swift Creek) 12:07Jana Stolting (Deerlake) 13:26
30 SEP 2004Graham Hawkes (Cobb) 11:51Mallory Alonzo (Raa) 14:01
2 OCT 2003Joe Franklin (Griffin) 11:38Charlotte Murrell (Cobb) 14:17
2002Bryan Miletich (Deerlake) 11:51Julia Bryant (Deerlake) 14:06
2001Kevin Bryant (Raa) 12:33Karen Devick (Raa) 13:58
2000Danny Sass (Deerlake) 13:04LaShaunta Arnold (Fairview) 14:50
1 OCT 1999Logan Wolcott (Raa) 12:52LaShaunta Arnold (Fairview) 14:30
13 OCT 1998Matt Varn (Swift Creek) 12:31Allie Hunter (Swift Creek) 14:27
1997Anthony Washington (Bellevue) 12:26Allie Hunter (Swift Creek) 15:00

6 OCT 1995Bryan Hendricks (Cobb) 8:15*Meredith Warren (Raa) 10:36*
6 OCT 1994Kevin Anderson (Deerlake) 8:10*Meredith Warren (Raa) 9:56*
20 OCT 1993
20 OCT 1992Mark Roehl (Raa) 8:40*Brianne Pla (Cobb) 9:33*
22 OCT 1991Michael Rodriguez (Raa) 8:38*Holly Skinner (Cobb) 10:15*
10 OCT 1990Tim Bolton (Cobb) 8:44*Christy Weinberger(Bellevue)10:17*
24 MAY 1990Wayne McDaniel (Raa) 6:58†Cynthia Costin (Griffin) 8:06†
23 MAY 1989Wayne McDaniel (Raa) 7:09†Tonia Jackson (Nims) 8:13†
10 MAY 1988Bobby Jessup (Griffin) †Tonia Jackson (Raa) †
* 1-1/2 mile race at Gretchen Everhart School
† 2 km race at Florida State University


No comments:

Post a Comment