Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Malatesta and McGranahan finish in the clover at the McGuire's St. Paddy's Day 5K

2018 McGuire's Saint Patrick's Day 5K Run bannerJacksonville is on the far east side of North Florida and Pensacola is on the far west side of North Florida. While some 12,000 runners gathered in Jacksonville for the 41st annual Gate River Run 15K on Saturday morning, 10 March 2018, another 12,000 or so were in Pensacola for the 41st annual McGuire's Saint Patrick's Day 5K. Balance was maintained, and the top of the state didn't tip over into the Atlantic Ocean.

Although similar in size and date, the races are quite different. The McGuire's race is shorter. The 2018 River Run was a national championship race, so the emphasis was on speed. The McGuire's event is a prediction run, so no one is concerned with running fast. Right?

Well, no. Up front in Pensacola, the runners were all about speed. Certainly, Anthony Malatesta wasn't out for a jog when ran 15:52, finishing first in the 2018 McGuire's 5K. Nor was Jennifer McGranahan loafing when she won the women's title in 18:39, placing eighteenth overall.

Malatesta, currently based in Milton, Florida, ran cross-country for Chatham High in New Jersey before going on to race for the United States Naval Academy. He was the only sub-16:00 performer at the 2018 McGuire's 5K, finishing 50 meters ahead of the next runner. Pensacola's Ian Bordelon edged Michael Remich of Pensacola for the runner-up spot, 16:02 to 16:06. 2017 McGuire's 5K champion Dewayne Riley took fourth in 16:21, while 2015 McGuire's 5K champ and West Florida Cross-Country coach Caleb Carmichael was fifth in 16:40. Rodney Phillips of Pensacola was the fastest master runner in the race, placing ninth overall in 16:59.

Jennifer McGranahan has been winning races in the Pensacola area since the 1990s, when she was a cross-country runner at Pensacola High. McGranahan also competed for the University of Florida and did coaching stints at the University of West Florida and Virginia Tech. On 10 March 2018, though, she was definitely on the streets of Pensacola, finishing more than 120 meters ahead of the rest of the women's field in the 41st annual McGuire's 5K. Sam Gardner of Daphne, Alabama was the women's runner-up, placing 27th overall in 19:08. Pensacola's Kelley Bahn, an alumna of the cross-country teams of Chiles High and the University of West Florida, was third in the women's standings and 32nd overall in 19:30. Amy Mayo of Satsuma, Alabama was the first woman master and thirteenth female finisher, placing 133rd overall in 22:56.

Top Ten Men, 2018 McGuire's Saint Patrick's Day 5K
  1. 15:52, Anthony Malatesta (M, 24) Milton, FL
  2. 16:02, Ian Bordelon (M, 25) Pensacola, FL
  3. 16:06, Michael Remich (M, 22) Pensacola, FL
  4. 16:21, Dewayne Riley (M, 31) Milton, FL
  5. 16:40, Caleb Carmichael (M, 33) Pensacola, FL
  6. 16:45, Dan Marzluff (M, 35) Milton, FL
  7. 16:48, Phillip Friedlander (M, 23) Mobile, AL
  8. 16:54, Justin Turner (M, 38) Pensacola, FL
  9. 16:59, Rodney Phillips (M, 52) Pensacola, FL
  10. 16:59, Roman Kowalski (M, 24) Pensacola, FL

Top Ten Women, 2018 McGuire's Saint Patrick's Day 5K
  1. 18:39, Jennifer McGranahan (F, 39) Pensacola, FL
  2. 19:08, Sam Gardner (F, 32) Daphne, AL
  3. 19:30, Kelley Bahn (F, 25) Pensacola, FL
  4. 20:40, Amy Murph (F, 28) Cantonment, FL
  5. 20:46, Kelly Sheets (F, 39) Mobile, AL
  6. 20:58, Morgan Burkett (F, 28) Pensacola Beach, FL
  7. 21:24, Kaitlan Moynihan (F, 22) Pensacola, FL
  8. 21:42, Sheri Frymire (F, 16) Pensacola, FL
  9. 21:43, Julie Fink (F, 36) Pensacola, FL
  10. 22:02, Natalie Toellner (F, 25) Tallahassee, FL

Recent winners of the McGuire's Saint Patrick's Day 5K, 2003 - 2018
15 March 200315:16, Everett Whiteside18:54, Kelly Wild
13 March 200415:03, Brent Schneider19:42, Erika Pollock
12 March 200515:16, Brent Schneider18:20, Lisa Drew
11 March 200616:16, Brian Hoover18:07, Jenny Ledford
10 March 200715:09, Everett Whiteside19:13, Heather Asmar
15 March 200815:06, Kyle Lewis18:43, Farrah Stewart
14 March 200915:16, Kyle Lewis18:16, Anna Hallex
13 March 201015:56, Kyle Lewis18:42, Ilea Eskildsen
12 March 201115:05, Andrew McCann19:57, Rebecca Massie
10 March 201215:35, Eric Larson18:45, Kate Imwalle
9 March 201315:54, Caleb Carmichael19:19, Jackie Kosakowski
15 March 201414:46, Ben Payne19:30, Jackie Kosakowski
14 March 201515:44, Derrick Rodgers17:24, Leslie Boring
12 March 201615:38, Danny Goodman, Jr17:33, Dannamae Figuerrez
11 March 201716:11, Dewayne Riley18:07, Fiana Kumm
10 March 201815:52, Anthony Malatesta18:39, Jennifer McGranahan


No comments:

Post a Comment