Saturday, November 16, 2013

No rubbish runs for Linton or Ness at the Trash Dash

Stanley LintonFor excitement, it could have been a race the previous week on the Apalachee Regional Park cross-country course, when it was the site of the 2013 FHSAA State Cross-Country Championships. But on this Saturday morning, 16 November 2013, it was the third annual Trash Dash 5K, and it was a race that went down to the wire, with Stanley Linton holding off Caleb Carmichael for the win, 15:54 to 15:55, while Jonathan Campbell was breathing down their necks at 16:00. Tony Guillen was the top master in the race, coming in seventh overall in 18:43. Emily Ness won the women's title, placing ninth overall in 19:06. Debbie Peters was the first master women, 44th overall in 25:32.

Caleb Carmichael and Jonathan CampbellThe race started just after 8:30 AM from a starting line painted on the grass for the State Meet a week earlier. University of West Florida cross-country coach Caleb Carmichael set the early pace. Seven days earlier Carmichael had taken his team to the NCAA-D2 South Regional, but this Saturday he was ready to race himself.

Carmichael had also already seen Apalachee Regional Park with his team during the season. "After being there for the FSU invite, I have to run that course," he said.

Florida State University undergraduates Stanley Linton and Jonathan Campbell followed Carmichael closely through the first mile. "We went by the mile in 4:56," said Linton after the race. Apparently that wasn't fast enough for Linton, because he took over the lead right after the mile mark. Campbell went with Linton, while Carmichael was content to follow in third.

Remy TamerThat was the story through the second mile and on into the third--Linton ahead but never very far ahead. With 300 meters to go, Linton was just three seconds ahead of Campbell. But Carmichael was starting to move. Passing Campbell, the coach began to narrow the gap between himself and Linton. Carmichael got close, but Linton made it across the finish line without being caught.

"I went too late," said Carmichael. "He got me by a second."

Emily NessOne second was indeed the margin of victory, with Linton clocked in 15:54 and Carmichael in 15:55. Campbell followed seconds later, finishing third in 16:00. Former UNC-Wilmington miler, Remy Tamer, was fourth in 16:38. Jim Van Veen, a former FSU cross-country runner, took fifth with a 17:40.

Another former FSU cross-country runner, Emily Ness of Capital City Runners, led the women's field off the starting line. Yet one more former Seminole, Meredith Urban Van Veen followed Ness, as did Lisa Johnson. Johnson moved up, taking the second position away from Van Veen, but by halfway through the race Ness was almost ten seconds ahead of Johnson. That lead would only grow. Ness went on to take the first woman's spot in 19:06, while Johnson was runner-up, placing tenth overall in 19:29. Van Veen held onto third, finishing 16th overall in 20:22. Taylor County High's Meagan Giddens (19th, 20:36) was fourth in the women's competition. A week earlier on the Apalachee Regional Park course, she had finished 17th in the FHSAA-2A girls state championship race, running 19:39.
Lisa Johnson

Formerly part of the America Recycles celebration at Apalachee Regional Park, the Trash Dash 5K was hosted by Sustainable Tallahassee. Although the race has been held in the park all three years of its existence, this was the first year that it was run on the championship course. The site seemed to be a hit with most of the race's 136 finishers.

Top Ten Men, 2013 Trash Dash 5K
  1. 15:54 ~ Stanley Linton (M, 19)Jim Van Veen
  2. 15:55 ~ Caleb Carmichael (M, 29)
  3. 16:00 ~ Jonathan Campbell (M, 19)
  4. 16:38 ~ Remy Tamer (M, 24)
  5. 17:40 ~ Jim Van Veen (M, 31)
  6. 18:31 ~ Albert Smythe (M, 16)
  7. 18:43 ~ Tony Guillen (M, 44)
  8. 19:05 ~ Gatlin Nennstiel (M, 14)
  9. 19:39 ~ Carl Nordhielm (M, 51)
  10. 20:01 ~ Camilo Ordonez (M, 34)

Top Ten Women, 2013 Trash Dash 5K
  1. 19:06 ~ Emily Ness (F, 23)Meredith Urban Van Veen
  2. 19:29 ~ Lisa Johnson (F, 32)
  3. 20:22 ~ Meredith Van Veen (F, 28)
  4. 20:36 ~ Meagan Giddens (F, 15)
  5. 21:23 ~ Anna Busby (F, 23)
  6. 21:53 ~ Brook Pace (F, 34)
  7. 22:38 ~ Urska Dobersek (F, 31)
  8. 23:20 ~ Bridget Wolfel (F, 33)
  9. 23:22 ~ Langlee Toothman (F, 16)
  10. 23:43 ~ Valeria Martinez (F, 20)

Trash Dash winners, 2011-2013
19 November 201117:53 ~ Brian Corbin21:28 ~ Sheryl Rosen
10 November 201217:52 ~ Roger Schmidt20:33 ~ Katie Showman98
16 November 201315:54 ~ Stanley Linton19:06 ~ Emily Ness


No comments:

Post a Comment