Saturday, February 21, 2015

DeVeau and Rosen first in the Flash

Zach DeVeauA brisk wind out of the south was at the runners' backs when they left the starting line of Gulf Winds Track Club's 27th annual Flash 12K on Saturday morning, 21 February 2015. The aiding breeze blew the athletes away from Fort San Marcos de Apalachee and up Fire Escape Road. The course was out and back, though, and the runners would be headed into the teeth of the wind at the finish. Zach DeVeau knew this when he was leading the race.

"I was afraid Vince [Molosky] was going to catch me on the way back," said DeVeau. "Then I would have to race him into that wind."

DeVeau didn't need to worry. Neither Vince Molosky nor anyone else caught DeVeau on his way to the finish line and a 42:03 victory in the not-quite-seven-and-a-half-mile race. Jack McDermott was the fastest master in the 12K, finishing fourth overall in 45:33. Sheryl Rosen won the women's title for the third time in six years, placing eleventh in 47:33. Tallahassee triathlete Stephanie Liles-Weyant was the first female master, coming in 13th overall in 48:43. 207 athletes finished the race.

Vince MoloskyThe 12K and the Flash 6K both started just after 8:30 AM. Molosky bolted out into the lead immediately. DeVeau followed, but not without misgivings.

"It felt like we were running pretty fast," said DeVeau. "But then we came through the first mile in 5:30. That was the pace I wanted to run."

No one else cared to run that pace, though, so Molosky and DeVeau were far ahead of the rest of the field. During the second mile DeVeau eased ahead of Molosky, and on the third mile he broke away. In spite of DeVeau's worries that Molosky would fight back up to the lead, the gap between the two runners only grew as the race progressed. DeVeau got the win in 42:03, while Molosky took second in 43:21. Eric Godin was third in 45:23. Tallahassee master runner Jack McDermott was fourth in 45:33, and Wakulla High senior Travis Parks finished fifth in 46:37.

Sheryl RosenSheryl Rosen took an early lead over the women's field in the 2015 Flash 12K, with Renee Cox, Stephanie Liles-Weyant, Katie Sherron, and Jillian Heddaeus in close pursuit. After the first kilometer Rosen was already 30 meters ahead and the chasers had dropped Heddaeus. By 5K Rosen had widened the margin to 100 meters. Sherron and Liles-Weyant shook off Cox, but they weren't making up any ground on Rosen. Rosen went on to run 47:33, the first woman finisher and eleventh overall. Sherron was the women's runner-up, twelfth overall in 48:24. Master runner Liles-Weyant took the third women's spot, thirteenth overall in 48:43. 17th overall in 51:07, Cox was fourth in the women's standings. Heddaeus was the fifth woman, 19th overall in 51:40.

After the Flash 12K, race director Mark Priddy and some of his volunteers were talking about possibly moving the finish line of the race next year. However, no one was talking about moving the 12K out of St. Marks or canceling it. Look for a 28th annual Flash 12K in 2016, and look for it on the streets and trails of St. Marks, Florida.

Top Ten Men, Gulf Winds Track Club's 2015 Flash 12K
  1. 42:03 ~ Zach Deveau (M, 27)Eric Godin
  2. 43:21 ~ Vince Molosky (M, 35)
  3. 45:23 ~ Eric Godin (M, 30)
  4. 45:33 ~ Jack McDermott (M, 46)
  5. 46:37 ~ Travis Parks (M, 18)
  6. 46:46 ~ Tim Unger (M, 55)
  7. 46:51 ~ Joel Piotrowski (M, 45)
  8. 47:05 ~ Paul Guyas (M, 37)
  9. 47:12 ~ Brian Molen (M, 38)
  10. 47:27 ~ Gary Galvez (M, 27)

Top Ten Women, Gulf Winds Track Club's 2015 Flash 12K
  1. 47:33 ~ Sheryl Rosen (F, 30)Katie Sherron
  2. 48:24 ~ Katie Sherron (F, 33)
  3. 48:43 ~ Stephanie Liles-Weyant (F, 42)
  4. 51:07 ~ Renee Cox (F, 27)
  5. 51:40 ~ Jillian Heddaeus (F, 31)
  6. 52:28 ~ Anna Busby (F, 24)
  7. 53:21 ~ Chelsea Hankins (F, 22)
  8. 55:37 ~ Mary Anne Grayson (F, 49)
  9. 55:40 ~ Emma Spencer (F, 34)
  10. 58:13 ~ Jane Skalski (F, 30)

Crawfordville master runner Duane Evans won the 6K race for the second time in the seven-year history of the shorter event, running 23:30. Katie Gorman ran down early leader Michelle Claycomb to win the women's title in the 6K, finishing second overall in 24:20. Gorman, a distance ace on the cross country and track teams at James Madison University from 2009-2013, is currently pursuing graduate studies in exercise physiology at Florida State University. Claycomb ended up second in the women's standings, fifth overall in 27:34. Kelley Coe El-Urfali was the top woman master in the 6K, coming in 13th overall in 31:48. 98 athletes finished the 6K, the highest total ever.

Top Ten Men, Gulf Winds Track Club's 2014 Flash 6KDuane Evans
  1. 23:30 ~ Duane Evans (M, 47)
  2. 24:26 ~ Scott Minert (M, 46)
  3. 25:52 ~ William Carter (M, 50)
  4. 29:07 ~ Will Thompson (M, 36)
  5. 29:28 ~ Kristian Stoilov (M, 19)
  6. 29:47 ~ Andrew Eads (M, 23)
  7. 30:40 ~ Bill Snyder (M, 64)
  8. 31:21 ~ Cory Cardoza (M, 39)
  9. 32:38 ~ Jackson Osteen (M, 11)
  10. 32:50 ~ Robert McShane (M, 54)

Top Ten Women, Gulf Winds Track Club's 2015 Flash 6K
  1. 24:20 ~ Katie Gorman (F, 23)Katie Gorman
  2. 27:34 ~ Michelle Claycomb (F, 28)
  3. 29:10 ~ Melissa Hooke (F, 36)
  4. 31:32 ~ Danielle Guinan (F, 24)
  5. 31:48 ~ Kelley Coe El-Urfali (F, 51)
  6. 31:58 ~ Karen Bennett (F, 38)
  7. 33:17 ~ Dale French (F, 29)
  8. 34:11 ~ Charlie Johns (F, 42)
  9. 34:11 ~ Mary Carter (F, 42)
  10. 34:20 ~ Karli Newton (F, 24)

Gulf Winds Track Club Flash 12K Champions, 1989 - 2015
28 January 198912K39:44, John Devine48:50, Barbara Balzer 155
17 February 199012K44:10, David Rigby54:40, Kathy Weiss 102
26 January 199112K39:36, Jessie Close50:24, Tina Davies163
18 January 199212K39:33, Jessie Close45:24, Paula Johnson132
23 January 199312K42:40, Jonathan Bigg45:43, Linda Nilges134
15 January 199412K38:02, Robin Rogers45:34, Jane Johnson91
21 January 199512K40:49, Gary Droze45:34, Jane Johnson145
27 January 199612K41:10, Gary Droze44:27, Jane Johnson132
11 January 199712K39:25, Brian Erb47:57, Sarah Williams75
7 February 199812K42:57, Clarence Calloway45:12, Sarah Williams164
20 February 199912K44:40, Tim Simpkins46:27, Sarah Williams82
19 February 200012K39:44, Michael Strickland46:06, Sara Docter-Williams107
17 February 200112K43:56, Tim Unger45:38, Sarah Docter-Williams 98
16 February 200212K40:35, Gary Droze47:17, Jane Johnson 148
1 February 200312K42:52, Shawn Patterson52:18, Lisa Whitworth 80
7 February 200412K42:46, Tim Unger52:49, Lisa Whitworth 89
5 February 200512K42:05, Lee Willis45:30, Sarah Docter-Williams 118
4 February 200612K42:49, Vince Molosky50:21, Lisa Johnson89
17 February 200712K44:58, Todd Smoot52:22, Kim Likens74
16 February 200812K43:10, Tripp Southerland50:57, Stephanie Liles131
21 February 200912K42:34, Jay Wallace50:48, Jane Johnson105
6K23:21, Brian Corbin21:36, Jana Stolting30
20 February 201012K41:57, Daniel Lee47:12, Sheryl Rosen176
6K24:43, Ben Kail31:35, Rachel Phipps53
19 February 201112K40:57, Thomas Kunish49:23, Kelly Stevens214
6K23:59, Caleb Harris31:26, Ashton McMurray73
18 February 201212K41:23, Stephen Cox49:52, Katie Showman214
6K24:57, Duane Evans27:39, Nancy Gribble89
16 February 201312K38:41, Kevin Sullivan46:17, Sheryl Rosen268
6K21:54, Michael Martinez25:09, Jessica Gillard70
15 February 201412K39:39, Stanley Linton45:20, Seeley Gutierrez262
6K21:56, Jon Mason28:15, Sarah Taff85
21 February 201512K42:03, Zach Deveau47:33, Sheryl Rosen207
6K23:30, Duane Evans24:20, Katie Gorman98
In 1989-2004 the race started and finished in Chaires. (FL88036BH and FL94001DL)
In 2005-2010 the race started and finished at J. Lewis Hall Park in Woodville. (FL05007DL)
In 2011-2015 the race started and finished at Fort San Marcos de Apalachee in St. Marks.


No comments:

Post a Comment