Saturday, March 14, 2015

Lake and Molen were in a hurry at the Scurry

Chris Lake and Nick MerrettNick Merrett owned the downhills at the Shamrock Scurry 5K, but Chris Lake owned the uphills. Lake ran 16:30 to win the 14 March 2015 race on the streets of Killearn Estates in Tallahassee, Florida, while Merrett posted a 16:47 for second. Gary Droze was the top master runner in the race, finishing fifth overall in 17:44. Emily Molen took the women's title, placing 14th overall in 20:45, while Carrie Seiberlich came in 15th overall in 21:00 to finish as the second female and first woman master. 418 athletes finished the 3.1-mile race, with another 123 completing a one-mile fun run.

It was the 27th Shamrock Scurry 5K since the first in 1981, and it started just after 8:30 AM on Roscommon Drive near Killearn United Methodist Church. Right after the start, Chris Lake and Nick Merrett were out in front of the field. Lake had run the race once before, finishing third in 2014. Merrett, a second-year distance runner at the University of West Florida, had raced track and cross country in Tallahassee. A resident of Christchurch, New Zealand, his opportunities to race on the Tallahassee roads had been limited; this was his first Shamrock Scurry. For the first half a kilometer Lake and Merrett raced together, with Lake slightly ahead. Then came the descent. For most of the next two kilometers, the course was downhill on Shamrock Drive.

Nick Merrett and Chris Lake"On the first downhill he got ahead," said Lake, recalling Merrett's surge into the lead. "But on the incline around two miles I caught back up."

About halfway through the race when the runners turned off of Shamrock Drive, Merrett had opened a gap on Lake. At about three kilometers, though, a major uphill marked the start of the course's climb back up to the church and the finish line. On the hill Lake closed the gap, passing Merrett. Lake had a 30-meter lead when he reached the base of the last major climb of the race, Pancake Hill. Powering up the hill then driving home, Lake had widened that margin to 80 meters when he crossed the finish line first in 16:30, 22 seconds faster than his time the previous year. Merrett was second in 16:47. Nate Kaiser had passed Vince Molosky during the second half of the race and was making up ground on Merrett during the final 800 meters, but never got close enough to make a serious challenge for second. Kaiser finished third in 16:54. Molosky was fourth in 17:39 and Maclay School coach Gary Droze was fifth in 17:44.

Chris Lake is looking forward to his next race, the Springtime 10K on 28 March 2015--Tallahassee's largest spring road race. Before that, though, there's another milestone coming up in the medical student's life.

Emily Molen"I find out on Friday where I'm doing my residency," said Lake. "It's a big week."

Deerlake Middle School cross-country runner Emily Molen was setting the pace for the women's field half a kilometer into the race, with master runner Carrie Seiberlich and Montford Middle School cross-country runner Caitlin Wilkey close behind. Wilkey couldn't maintain the pace, leaving Seiberlich and Molen. At the base of Pancake Hill, Seiberlich was a few strides ahead of Molen, but there was still 800 meters left to race. In those final 800 meters Molen overtook Seiberlich then raced home in 20:45 for the women's title. Seiberlich was a place behind in 21:00. Caitlin Wilkey was the third female finisher, 18th overall in 21:29. Jillian Heddaeus was fourth in the women's standings, 20th overall in 22:05.

After the race a pancakes and sausage breakfast was served to the runners at Killearn United Methodist Church. Finish line and chip timing services for the 2015 Shamrock Scurry were provided by Gulf Winds Track Club.

Top Ten Men, 2015 Shamrock Scurry 5K
  1. 16:30 ~ Chris Lake (M, 27)Nate Kaiser (3rd, 16:54)
  2. 16:47 ~ Nick Merrett (M, 23)
  3. 16:54 ~ Nate Kaiser (M, 35)
  4. 17:39 ~ Vince Molosky (M, 35)
  5. 17:44 ~ Gary Droze (M, 53)
  6. 18:57 ~ Colin Abbey (M, 20)
  7. 19:03 ~ Michael Martinez (M, 49)
  8. 19:34 ~ Philip Sura (M, 44)
  9. 19:37 ~ Carter Hay (M, 43)
  10. 19:46 ~ David Welling (M, 30)

Top Ten Women, 2015 Shamrock Scurry 5K
  1. 20:45 ~ Emily Molen (F, 13)Carrie Seiberlich
  2. 21:00 ~ Carrie Seiberlich (F, 43)
  3. 21:29 ~ Caitlin Wilkey (F, 13)
  4. 22:05 ~ Jillian Heddaeus (F, 31)
  5. 23:58 ~ Jennifer Shafer (F, 47)
  6. 24:26 ~ Kate Krizner (F, 11)
  7. 24:29 ~ Nancy Proctor (F, 54)
  8. 25:31 ~ Shannon Moore (F, 44)
  9. 25:44 ~ Lorien Abbey (F, 47)
  10. 25:53 ~ Jennifer Early (F, 31)

Known Shamrock Scurry 5K winners, 1981 - 2015

13 March 198217:05, Paul Hodge21:22, Cathy Shuler
12 March 198315:35, Adam Pinkston19:21, Cheryl Jennings
17 March 198416:19, Bobby Shackleford17:42, Nellie Orr
16 March 198514:35, Jeff Wentworth19:20, Angie Crook
15 March 198615:33, David Keen18:42, Janice Hochstein
7 March 198715:21, Richard Corbett18:15, Janice Hochstein
12 March 198816:01, Bill Crooks19:59, Robin Tanner
11 March 198915:57, Bill Crooks19:32, Yvonne Gsteiger
17 March 199015:39, John Charlton20:07 Jane Henderson
16 March 199115:32, Gary Droze19:15, Vikki Saga
14 March 199215:53, Jessie Close17:50, Paula Johnson
8 May 1993

19 March 199415:17, Robin Rogers18:38, Jane Johnson
18 March 1995


13 March 200416:02, Ryder Leary16:44, Sinead Evans
5 March 200516:29, Matthew Dobson19:21, Breeda Willis
18 March 200618:21, Michael Martinez20:10, Jennifer Emo
17 March 200715:43, Joey Zins21:55, Jun Inoue
15 March 200814:47, Mark Carroll16:55, Barbara Parker
13 March 201017:25, Jay Wallace21:03, Anna Busby
12 March 201118:14, Peter Kaus19:35, Sheryl Rosen
10 March 201216:27, Stephen Cox19:43, Carrie Seiberlich
9 March 201316:13, Stanley Linton20:38, Mary Anne Grayson
8 March 201415:44, Stanley Linton19:48, Katie Sherron
14 March 201516:30, Chris Lake20:45, Emily Molen
Originally scheduled for March 13, the 1993 race had to be
postponed because of a severe winter storm.
The Shamrock Scurry was held from Killearn UMC from 1981
to 1996.
The Shamrock Scurry was not held from 1997 to 2003.
From 2004 to 2008 the Shamrock Scurry was held from
Celebration Baptist Church.
The Shamrock Scurry was not held in 2009.
From 2010 to 2015 the Shamrock Scurry was held from Killearn


No comments:

Post a Comment