Saturday, March 11, 2017

Rosen and LaBossiere top the Tribe Trot

If you've been following running in Southwest Georgia long enough, you might recall Whigham, Georgia as the home of the Rattlesnake Run. That race only exists in the history books now, but on Saturday morning, 11 March 2017, a new race came to the streets of Whigham--the Whigham School Tribe Trot 5K.

Tallahassee, Florida is not far south of Whigham, just across the state line, and Tallahassee runners often excelled in the Rattlesnake Run. That was also the case in the 2017 Tribe Trot 5K, where athletes from Tallahassee swept the overall women's and men's titles. Tallahassee lawyer Sheryl Rosen was the overall winner and first female, finishing over 800 meters ahead of the next runner while covering the course in 18:45. Florida A & M University philosophy professor and master runner Michael LaBossiere was the first male finisher, taking the runner-up spot in 22:26.

Thomas County Middle School cross-country coach Al Whatley was second in the men's standings and third overall in 24:09. Seth Stanaland was the third man and fourth overall in 24:27.

Katina Stewart of Cairo, Georgia was the first woman master and second female finisher, placing ninth overall in 27:20. Mandy Grace was third in the women's standings with an identical 27:20 clocking, placing tenth overall.

The Whigham School Parent-Teacher Organization hosted the race, with proceeds benefiting the school. 52 athletes finished the 2017 Whigham School Tribe Trot 5K.

Top Ten Women, 2017 Whigham School Tribe Trot 5K
  1. 18:45, Sheryl Rosen (F, 32)
  2. 27:19.80, Katina Stewart (F, 44)
  3. 27:19.80, Mandy Grace (F, 37)
  4. 27:49, Misty Cox (F, 37)
  5. 28:19, Augusta Bostick (F, 49)
  6. 29:16, Laurie Young (F, 40)
  7. 31:00.05, Joyce Moore (F, 57)
  8. 31:48, Leigh Ann Hunter (F, 49)
  9. 32:11, Sarah Byram (F, 12)
  10. 36:30, Cindy Meadows (F, 56)

Top Ten Men, 2017 Whigham School Tribe Trot 5K
  1. 22:26, Michael LaBossiere (M, 50)
  2. 24:09, Al Whatley (M, 46)
  3. 24:27, Seth Stanaland (M, 32)
  4. 24:39, Joshua Gainous (M, 33)
  5. 26:34, Jaxon Cox (M, 9)
  6. 26:37, Lafe Perkins (M, 31)
  7. 27:18, Michael Brown (M, 33)
  8. 28:25, Al Sessions (M, 35)
  9. 29:06, Lex Moore (M, 61)
  10. 29:15, Wyatt Bostick (M, 49)



    follow me on Twitter