Saturday, February 10, 2018

Molosky and Piekarewicz get the [baked] goods at the Run For The Cookies

"This is the best race of the year!" declared Katie Sherron.

The 2018 Run For The Cookies 5K was still just under an hour away, but Sherron's sentiment may have been influenced by the fact that she had just picked up her race packet, and there was a box of Girl Scout cookies inside. Throughout the 25-year history of the Tallahassee, Florida event, each athlete who enters the Run For The Cookies has received a box of Girl Scout cookies. There's a T-shirt, too, but you can't snack on a cotton blend.

Vince Molosky and Tristan Cravello

Aside from the sweets, there was some good running that Saturday morning, 10 February 2018. On the 3.1-mile Tallahassee Community College course, Vince Molosky and Tristan Cravello battled the entire way before Molosky got the win, 17:00 to 17:09. Adriana Piekarewicz and Katie Sherron had a similar duel in the women's competition until Piekarewicz pulled away during the final kilometer and took the women's title with a 17:59.

The morning opened with a kids' mile at 8:30 AM, but the main event, the 5K, started just after 9:00 AM. By half a mile, Vince Molosky was in the lead, a step ahead of Tristan Cravello. At one mile, Molosky was two steps ahead of Cravello. At two miles, a few steps ahead. Molosky was slowly widening the gap, but Cravello wasn't going away.

Vince Molosky

"I thought he was right behind me," said Molosky. "There was no point at which I thought I was safe. I put in a surge on a little downhill around two-and-a-half miles. After that I was just trying to hold him off."

In the end, Molosky did hold off Cravello, making it to the finish line first in 17:00. It was Molosky's first Run For The Cookies win in four tries. For Cravello, a first-year student at Florida State University, it was his first Cookie Run; he took second in 17:09. Jim Halley edged Kurt Dietrich for third, 17:53 to 17:57. Carter Hay was the top master runner in the race, placing sixth overall in 18:00.

Tristan Cravello

In the women's competition, Katie Sherron and Adriana Piekarewicz were less than a step apart for most of the first mile. Piekarewicz gave up some ground during the second mile, letting Sherron set the pace.

"Having Katie right there was so helpful," said Piekarewicz. "I usually slow down during the second mile, but having Katie there kept it fast."

Katie Sherron and Adriana Piekarewicz

Sherron had a few strides on Piekarewicz after two miles, but that changed during the final mile.

"I'm more of a marathoner now, so one mile to go is like nothing," said Piekarewicz.

Piekarewicz went by Sherron then began to build her own lead. Piekarewicz was still going away when she crossed the finish line in 17:59, the first woman and fifth overall. A fading Sherron was second in the women's standings and eighth overall in 18:17.

Sheryl Rosen

"A.P. had a great race," said Sherron. "I really slowed down during the third mile."

Sheryl Rosen, the Cookie Run women's champ in 2011 and 2015, was the third woman and fifteenth overall in 19:03. Lincoln High sophomore cross-country runner Megan Churchill was fourth in the women's division and nineteenth overall in 19:53.

"That was my first time under 20:00!" said Churchill.

Megan Churchill

Angela Dempsey was the first woman master and twelfth female finisher, 45th overall in 22:38.

Back in her high school days, Piekarewicz competed in cross-country and track for Tallahassee Maclay School, but she has since moved to Winston-Salem, North Carolina. It was just lucky that she happened to be back in Tallahassee on a family visit during the Run For The Cookies. Or unlucky, if you happened to be one of the 342 athletes who finished behind her that morning.

From that, you can probably calculate that 347 people finished the 2018 Run For The Cookies 5K. Another 122 finished the one-mile kids' run. Gulf Winds Track Club chip-timed both races.

Top Ten Men, 2018 Run For The Cookies 5K
  1. 17:00, Vince Molosky (M, 38)
  2. 17:09, Tristan Cravello (M, 18)
  3. 17:53, Jim Halley (M, 38)
  4. 17:57, Kurt Dietrich (M, 26)
  5. 18:00, Carter Hay (M, 46)
  6. 18:16, Brad Busboom (M, 30)
  7. 18:37, Jay McDuffie (M, 17)
  8. 18:39, Thomas Howell (M, 21)
  9. 18:47, Dennis Majano (M, 18)
  10. 18:57, Paul Guyas (M, 40)

Top Ten Women, 2018 Run For The Cookies 5K
  1. 17:59, Adriana Piekarewicz (F, 29)
  2. 18:17, Katie Sherron (F, 36)
  3. 19:03, Sheryl Rosen (F, 33)
  4. 19:53, Megan Churchill (F, 15)
  5. 20:14, Meg Ogle (F, 27)
  6. 20:18, Brittney Barnes (F, 30)
  7. 20:38, Ella Porcher (F, 13)
  8. 21:23, Rachael Stockel (F, 15)
  9. 21:32, Tylo Farrar (F, 23)
  10. 22:10, Kate Chunka (F, 34)

Run For The Cookies 5K champions, 1994 - 2018
19 February 199416:12, Gary Droze-118:51, Carrie Weyant-185
25 February 199515:42, Gary Droze-218:15, Jane Johnson186
24 February 199616:08, Gary Droze-319:57, Chateau Mangaroo175
22 February 199715:17, Gary Droze-419:02, Carrie Weyant-2150
28 February 199815:38, Jason Ritter17:29, Sarah Docter-Williams-1207
27 February 199916:17, David Ogletree17:38, Sarah Docter-Williams-2258
26 February 200016:23, Robert Pautienus17:53, Kim Winn294
24 February 200115:59, Kevin Danahy17:30, Sarah Docter-Williams-3231
23 February 200215:25, Lee Willis-116:18, Breeda Dennehy-Willis-1248
15 February 200315:49, Lee Willis-216:30, Breeda Dennehy-Willis-2152
14 February 200417:07, Timothy Bolton18:06, Sarah Docter-Williams-493
12 February 200516:23, Justin Jacobs17:43, Sarah Docter-Williams-5258
11 February 200616:49, Kyle Larson19:04, Stephanie Liles-1156
10 February 200715:53, Judson Cake19:06, Zika Rea386
9 February 200816:45, Tripp Southerland19:35, Stephanie Liles-2411
7 February 200916:16, Chris Lake-118:40, Audrey Hand550
13 February 201016:27, Chris Lake-218:11, Amy Hines-1432
12 February 201115:50, Kevin Sullivan19:02, Sheryl Rosen-1431
11 February 201216:07, Alex Smyth17:36, Amy Hines-2685
9 February 201316:00, Stanley Linton-117:43, Chelsi Woodruff602
8 February 201415:24, Stanley Linton-217:54, Carly Thomas369
14 February 201515:40, Remy Tamer18:04, Sheryl Rosen-2332
13 February 201617:15, Clayburn Milford18:53, Alexandra Midgett342
11 February 201716:27, Matthew McCurdy17:35, Ani Veltcheva405
10 February 201817:00, Vince Molosky17:59, Adriana Piekarewicz347
The Run For The Cookies was held at Tallahassee Mall from 1994 to 1996,
and at Tallahassee Community College from 1997 to the present.
A big thank-you to Mark Priddy for his help in completing this summary.


No comments:

Post a Comment