Friday, January 26, 2018

Good Life City Runners Whitehead and Centner win the Crowdis

2018 Dr. James H. Crowdis Run 10K and 5KDr. Patrick Whitehead's first time at the Dr. James H. Crowdis Run was 2015. He dropped out a mile into the race.

As if to make up for that inauspicious debut, the Albany, Georgia athlete returned to Blakely, Georgia the next year and won the 2016 Crowdis 5K. Whitehead was back in Blakely for the 2017 Crowdis, winning the newly-added 10K race at the event. And on Saturday morning, 20 January 2018, Whitehead successfully defended his 10K title, running a course-record 35:59 at the 22nd Dr. James H. Crowdis Run. Ann Centner of Blakely won the women's title, placing third overall in 41:32.

The race had no sooner started than Whitehead was out front, rapidly leaving the field behind. When he dashed across the finish line with a sub-36:00 winning time, Whitehead had run ten kilometers before any other runner had gone nine. Donalsonville, Georgia master runner Myles Gibson took second in 39:55. Gibson is a three-time winner of the Crowdis 5K, picking up the first of those wins back in 1993. Haydn Griffin, a senior on the Bainbridge High cross-country team, was third in the men's standings and fifth overall in 44:07.

Ann Centner's winning 41:32 put her across the finish line almost 600 meters ahead of the next woman. It was Centner's first victory at the Crowdis Run; she had finished second to Sheryl Rosen in the 2016 Crowdis 5K. Behind Centner, Vivianna Schuyler was the women's runner-up and fourth overall in 44:07. Karen Wilson was the first woman master and third female finisher, eighth overall in 51:23.

26 athletes finished the 2018 James H. Crowdis 10K.

Top Ten Men, 2018 Dr. James H. Crowdis 10K
  1. 35:59, Patrick Whitehead (M, 31)
  2. 39:55, Myles Gibson (M, 51)
  3. 44:07, Haydn Griffin (M, 18)
  4. 48:58, David Braswell (M, 46)
  5. 50:10, Jim Tully (M, 71)
  6. 51:25, Julian Strickland (M, 52)
  7. 52:28, Andy Smith (M, 48)
  8. 52:35, David Forrester (M, 38)
  9. 54:20, Shane Smith (M, 50)
  10. 57:05, David Slauenwhite (M, 59)

Top Ten Women, 2018 Dr. James H. Crowdis 10K
  1. 41:32, Ann Centner (F, 26)
  2. 44:07, Vivianna Schuyler (F, 18)
  3. 51:23, Karen Wilson (F, 50)
  4. 54:42, Nina Korges (F, 58)
  5. 56:55, Suzanne Angell (F, 52)
  6. 57:45, Katie Sheppard (F, 15)
  7. 58:51, Andi Alexander (F, 40)
  8. 60:03, Chandra Hanson (F, 50)
  9. 72:16, Teresa O'Quinn (F, 57)
  10. 81:52, Julia Moss (F, 33)

It was the second year of the Crowdis 10K, but the 5K is the original race at the Crowdis Run, going back to the founding of the event in 1981. Dothan, Alabama's Alan Flores, a frosh on the Northview High cross-country team, won the 2018 Crowdis 5K in 19:20. Arnoldo DeJesus of Albany was second in 20:09, and Headland (Alabama) High sophomore cross-country runner Will Scott was third in 20:19. Dale Thomas was the top master runner in the 5K, placing fourth in 20:19.

Dothan, Alabama master runner Carolyn Houston was the women's champ in the 5K, placing fourteenth overall in 24:17. Master runners Stephanie Odom and Cathy Jones were second and third in the women's standings, eighteenth overall in 25:59 and nineteenth overall in 26:11.

71 athletes finished the 2018 Dr James H. Crowdis 5K.

Top Ten Men, 2018 Dr. James H. Crowdis 5K
  1. 19:20, Alan Flores (M, 14)
  2. 20:09, Arnoldo DeJesus (M, 31)
  3. 20:19, Will Scott (M, 15)
  4. 21:16, Dale Thomas (M, 54)
  5. 21:41, Carson Odom (M, 15)
  6. 21:46, Mark McCarra (M, 52)
  7. 22:00, David Long (M, 17)
  8. 22:09, Mike Houston, Sr. (M, 44)
  9. 23:12, Tom Warner (M, 43)
  10. 23:20, Julian Whaley (M, 14)

Top Ten Women, 2018 Dr. James H. Crowdis 5K
  1. 24:17, Carolyn Houston (F, 45)
  2. 25:59, Stephanie Odom (F, 45)
  3. 26:11, Cathy Jones (F, 58)
  4. 26:48, Jennifer Williams (F, 35)
  5. 27:57, Tamara Spann (F, 35)
  6. 28:16, Mary Brosnan (F, 60)
  7. 28:23, Sarah Houston (F, 15)
  8. 28:50, Dainyell Long (F, 44)
  9. 29:19, Melissa Saggars (F, 48)
  10. 29:32, Amanda Moulton (F, 44)

Dr. James H. Crowdis Run champions, 1981 - 2018
28 March 19815K17:14, Tony Gilbert21:09, Connie Cullifer
27 March 19825K17:20, Brian Doby, Connie Cullifer108
12 March 19835K16:19, Kirk Thomas20:10, Maurine Farley143
10 March 19845K15:50, Louis Floyd21:16, Ann Lee139
9 March 19855K15:46, Mike Mead19:54, Donna Duty179
9 March 19865K15:31, Mike Mead19:36, Donna Duty198
14 March 19875K15:20, Lee Fidler19:36, Donna Duty158
12 March 19885K15:53, John Devine18:59, Janice Hochstein151
11 March 19895K14:59, Matt Parker17:03, Kim Byrd178
10 March 19905K15:05, Matt Parker19:47, Donna Duty152
9 March 19915K15:36, Matt Parker18:29, Connie Robertson130
14 March 19925K14:52, Paul Waldron20:09, Janice Hochstein102
15 May 1993*5K16:54, Myles Gibson20:22, Donna Duty65
12 March 19945K16:51, Scott Hoxie18:32, Connie Robertson97
11 March 19955K16:54, Dale Thomas19:19, Connie Robertson105
No race held, 1996-2011
3 September 20125K18:27, Jonathon Davison23:13, Debra Hunter87
13 July 20135K17:34, Chase Harris21:14, Paige Braswell88
19 July 20145K18:12, Myles Gibson23:24, Margaret Winkler103
11 July 20155K18:10, Myles Gibson23:02, Margaret Winkler107
9 July 20165K17:07, Patrick Whitehead19:14, Sheryl Rosen90
21 January 201710K36:24, Patrick Whitehead54:43, Katie Sheppard33
5K19:23, Trevor Cleveland20:23, Alli Hay58
20 January 201810K35:59, Patrick Whitehead41:32, Ann Centner26
5K19:20, Alan Flores24:17, Carolyn Houston71

* The 1993 race was originally scheduled for March 13, but was one of several races in the region
that day postponed by a severe winter storm

A huge "thank you" to Larry Dykes of the Dothan Runners for his help in filling many blanks in
the above history


No comments:

Post a Comment