Monday, September 16, 2019

Florida State students Paul Allen and Ann Centner show their stuff at the Run For Sickle Cell

Just after finishing Tallahassee, Florida's 38th annual Sickle Cell 5K on Saturday morning, 14 September 2019, Tristan Cravello was looking over the results of the race. Cravello, winner of that race in 2017, had just finished third. So he had a particular interest in the top three places.

Paul Allen
Paul Allen

"It's an age twenty sweep," commented Cravello.

Sure enough, each of the first three athletes was twenty years old. Twenty-year-old Paul Allen of Tampa, Florida had won the race with a 16:02. Twenty-year-old Bryce Parry of Debary, Florida had placed second in 17:09. And twenty-year-old Cravello had gone 17:26 to earn third place. The double-decade club didn't fare as well in the women's standings, though. Ann Centner was the first woman in the race, placing fifth overall in 18:09. She was 27.

The Run For Sickle Cell was first held in 1987, so it was already an established event in Tallahassee when Allen, Parry, and Cravello were born. If they were intimidated by the age of the race, it didn't show in their performance. Just after the 8:30 AM start of the run, Cravello was leading the field. Parry ran in the second position, keeping Cravello in sight, while Allen ran just behind Parry. Allen soon gave up his stalking position, overtaking Parry first and then Cravello. 800 meters into the race Allen was in the lead and moving away. Early in the second half of the 5K, Parry passed Cravello to move into second. Neither runner would challenge Allen, who went on to win by well over 300 meters in 16:02. Parry was second in 17:09, and Cravello third in 17:26.

Tristan Cravello, Bryce Parry
Tristan Cravello & Bryce Parry

The top overall finishers settled into their positions early, but that wasn't the case among the master runners. Florida A & M professor Dr. Geb Kiros led the 40-and-over competitors in the early going, shadowed by Michael Martinez. After Kiros faded, Martinez found himself trailing another college professor, Florida State's Dr. Hong-Guo Yu. Martinez surged ahead of Hong-Guo Yu to take the top master spot, finishing seventh overall in 18:30. Hong-Guo Yu was the second master runner and eighth overall at 18:38.

Cravello had raced the Sickle Cell 5K before, but it was the first time running in the Jake Gaither neighborhood for Allen and Parry. Parry, at least, was favorably impressed.

"This is the best course I've seen since I've been up here," said Parry.

Ann Centner
Ann Centner

Parry has been in Tallahassee two years now, studying undergraduate mathematics at Florida State. Ann Centner is also a Florida State student, pursuing a doctoral degree in nutrition science. She had run the Sickle Cell 5K in 2018, placing third in the women's standings behind Amy Hines and Sheryl Rosen. Rosen, a Tallahassee lawyer and the the 2008 Sickle Cell 5K women's champ, was on the starting line with Centner at the 2019 race. Centner left Rosen behind almost immediately after the start. Leading the women's field from wire to wire, Centner crossed the finish line in 18:09, nine seconds faster than she had run the year before. Rosen was the second woman and tenth overall in 19:03. Alyssa Moore, another Florida State grad student, was the third woman and seventeenth overall in 20:07. The 2017 women's winner, Dr. Katie Sherron, was fourth in the women's standings and nineteenth overall in 20:14. Lourena Maxwell was the top woman master and seventh female finisher, 26th overall in 21:31.

The Sickle Cell 5K was Centner's first race in September, but not her last of the autumn campaign.

"I'm doing the 30A Half Marathon in Santa Rosa Beach in three weeks," said Centner. "And next week the Tallahassee Women's Distance Festival 5K."

Sheryl Rosen
Sheryl Rosen

187 runners and 74 walkers finished the 2019 Sickle Cell 5K, plus another 39 athletes in the preceding one-mile fun run. Gulf Winds Track Club chip-timed the races.

Top Ten Men, 2019 Sickle Cell 5K
  1. 16:02, Paul Allen (M, 20) Tampa, FL
  2. 17:09, Bryce Parry (M, 20) Debary, FL
  3. 17:26, Tristan Cravello (M, 20) Tallahassee, FL
  4. 17:53, Zach Deveau (M, 31) Tallahassee, FL
  5. 18:24, Ryan Truchelut (M, 33) Tallahassee, FL
  6. 18:30, Michael Martinez (M, 53) Tallahassee, FL
  7. 18:38, Hong-Guo Yu (M, 51) Tallahassee, FL
  8. 18:52, Tristan Lanasa (M, 26) Tallahassee, FL
  9. 19:14, David Knauf (M, 55) Tallahassee, FL
  10. 19:28, Donald Smith (M, 39) Tallahassee, FL

Top Ten Women, 2019 Sickle Cell 5K
  1. 18:09, Ann Centner (F, 27) Tallahassee, FL
  2. 19:03, Sheryl Rosen (F, 35) Tallahassee, FL
  3. 20:07, Alyssa Moore (F, 25) Tallahassee, FL
  4. 20:14, Katie Sherron (F, 37) Tallahassee, FL
  5. 20:29, Brittney Barnes (F, 31) Tallahassee, FL
  6. 20:30, Meg Ogle (F, 28) Tallahassee, FL
  7. 21:31, Lou Maxwell (F, 44) Tallahassee, FL
  8. 22:05, Laura McDermott (F, 39) Tallahassee, FL
  9. 22:15, Cecilia Bouaichi (F, 23) Tallahassee, FL
  10. 22:47, Nancy Stedman (F, 57) Tallahassee, FL

Known Sickle Cell 5K winners, 1982 - 2019


8 September 1984 *

31 August 1985


19 September 198715:14.2, Jessie Close17:31.8, Karen MacHarg
17 September 198815:12, Jessie Close16:40, Carla Borovicka
16 September 198915:14, Jessie Close19:38, Barbara Balzer
15 September 199016:04, Bill Crooks18:23, Karen MacHarg
14 September 199115:18, Gary Droze18:47, Vikki Saga
12 September 199215:07, Gary Droze18:39, Carrie Hunnicutt
11 September 199315:50, Peter Kirk21:06, Leah Bonds
10 September 199415:47, Andy Palmer18:06, Jane Johnson
9 September 199515:51, John Otterson19:00, Carrie Weyant
14 September 199615:23, Bryan Erb17:58, Jane Johnson
13 September 199715:23, Gary Droze17:40, Sara Docter-Williams
12 September 199816:26, Tim Simpkins20:28, Julie Clark
11 September 199916:24, Robert Pautienus19:44, Kingsley Broughton
9 September 200016:55, Tim Unger17:40, Sandra Williams
8 September 200117:05, Tony Pearson19:39, Renata Strakova
14 September 200219:15, Michael LaBossiere24:03, Jane Cormier
13 September 200318:24, David Yon22:25, Kim Likens
11 September 200418:32, Scott Ruplinger22:29, Krista Killius
10 September 200518:28, Dan Pick22:00, Cathleen Willy
9 September 200617:36, Chris Gregory21:05, Summer Shepherd
8 September 200716:52, Michael Martinez20:18, Lindsay Thomas
13 September 200816:05, Chris Lake19:11, Sheryl Rosen
12 September 200915:44, Chris Lake22:27, Julie Clark
11 September 201018:36, Trey Edwards22:13, Nancy Stedman
10 September 201116:29, Gary Droze21:21, Tiffany Barz
8 September 201218:18, Paul Guyas20:06
14 September 2013??
13 September 201416:48, Roger Schmidt22:18, Paula O'Neill
12 September 201517:24, Matthew Nazareth20:10, Brittney Barnes
10 September 201617:41, Geb Kiros20:05, Brittney Barnes
9 September 201717:38, Tristan Cravello17:43, Katie Sherron
8 September 201815:16, Christopher Haynes18:07, Amy Hines
14 September 201916:02, Paul Allen18:09, Ann Centner
* Four-mile run


No comments:

Post a Comment