Monday, January 21, 2019

Antonio Marchi rocks a 31:41 in the Crowdis 10K

2018 Dr. James H. Crowdis Run 10K and 5K10K records just don’t last in Blakely, Georgia. After a 10K race was added to the city’s annual Dr James Crowdis Run in 2017, the course records have fallen each year. In 2018 Dr Patrick Whitehead rolled to a 35:59 win, breaking his own 2017 course record of 36:24. Ann Centner topped the women’s competition in 2018 with a 41:32, demolishing the women’s course record of 54:43, established in 2017 by Katie Sheppard.

And on Saturday morning, 19 January 2019, at the 23rd Crowdis Run Antonio Marchi ran the 10K in 31:41, winning the race by more than two kilometers. In case you haven’t been following, that was also a new course record. There was a new women’s course record as well; sixteen-year-old Viviana Schuyler took the women’s title in 41:22, knocking off Centner’s 2018 mark while placing third overall.

The Crowdis Run began in 1981 as a 5K. The 5K is still part of the Crowdis, starting at the same time and following the same course as the 10K. The 2019 races started from Blakely First United Methodist Church with Antonio Marchi quickly bolting out ahead of the entire field, 5K and 10K runners alike. There must have been some excitement back at the church when Marchi came back into sight at the end of his first five-kilometer loop, with the spectators thinking that they were about to see the first sub-16:00 at Crowdis since 1992. Instead, they saw Marchi ignore the 5K finish line and turn back onto the course for another five kilometers of running. The next time Marchi appeared at the church he did cross the finish line, astonishing the onlookers with his winning 31:41. Most of the 5K field was still out on the course.

Myles Gibson of Donalsonville, Georgia was the first master runner in the race, placing second overall in 39:00, his second straight year in the runner-up spot. A prominent figure in Crowdis history, Gibson had won the 5K in 1993, 2014, and 2015. Master runner Jay Wrenn was third in the men's competition and fourth overall, running 47:18.

Viviana Schuyler had finished second to Ann Centner in the women's competition at the 2018 Crowdis. Centner wasn't at the race in 2019, having since moved from Blakely to Tallahassee, Florida. But if Schuyler couldn't race Centner then she could race Centner's record. The Bainbridge High sophomore cross-country runner did just that, trimming ten seconds off the women's course record with her 41:22. Adrian Parker was second to Schuyler in the women's standings, placing eleventh overall in 55:59. Chandra Hanson was the first woman master and third female finisher, fourteenth overall in 64:49.

Eighteen athletes finished the 2019 Dr. James H. Crowdis 10K.

Top Five Men, 2019 Dr. James H. Crowdis 10K
  1. 31:41, Antonio Marchi (M, 30)
  2. 39:00, Myles Gibson (M, 52)
  3. 47:18, Jay Wrenn (M, 54)
  4. 47:49, Julian Strickland (M, 53)
  5. 48:36, David Braswell (M, 47)

Top Five Women, 2019 Dr. James H. Crowdis 10K
  1. 41:22, Vivianna Schuyler (F, 16)
  2. 55:59, Adrian Parker (F, 30)
  3. 64:49, Chandra Hanson (F, 51)
  4. 73:27, Teresa O'Quinn (F, 58)
  5. 82:07, Julia Moss (F, 34)

The 5K belonged to the over-40 athletes, with Tallahassee master runner Michael Martinez winning the 3.1-mile race in 18:50, and Jakin, Georgia master runner Debra Hunter capturing the women's crown with a 23:24, placing tenth overall.

Alan Flores, a frosh-year runner on the cross-country team at Northview High, finihsed second to Martinez in 19:41. Headland High junior-year cross-country runner Will Scott was third in 19:55.

Dothan, Alabama master runner Carolyn Houston took second in the women's standings, placing twelfth overall in 23:44. Gail Morris was the third woman and fifteenth overall in the 5K with a 24:36.

83 athletes finished the 2019 Dr. James H. Crowdis 5K.

Top Ten Men, 2019 Dr. James H. Crowdis 5K
  1. 18:50, Michael Martinez (M, 53)
  2. 19:41, Alan Flores (M, 15)
  3. 19:55, Will Scott (M, 16)
  4. 20:05, Jalen Mutrie (M, 17)
  5. 21:09, Landon Watts (M, 15)
  6. 21:31, Dale Thomas (M, 55)
  7. 22:28, Marco Teeter (M, 25)
  8. 22:46, Julian Whaley (M, 15)
  9. 22:54, Mike Houston, Sr. (M, 46)
  10. 23:43, Mark McCarra (M, 53)

Top Ten Women, 2019 Dr. James H. Crowdis 5K
  1. 23:24, Debra Hunter (F, 45)
  2. 23:44, Carolyn Houston (F, 46)
  3. 24:36, Gail Morris (F, 37)
  4. 26:23, Stephanie Odom (F, 46)
  5. 26:28, Katie Barrentine (F, 34)
  6. 26:54, Kelli Peterson (F, 46)
  7. 27:01, Cathy Jones (F, 59)
  8. 29:30, Cindy Conner (F, 44)
  9. 31:31, Tara Whaley (F, 43)
  10. 32:58, Mary Jean Taylor (F, 57)

Dr. James H. Crowdis Run champions, 1981 - 2019
28 March 19815K17:14, Tony Gilbert21:09, Connie Cullifer
27 March 19825K17:20, Brian Doby, Connie Cullifer108
12 March 19835K16:19, Kirk Thomas20:10, Maurine Farley143
10 March 19845K15:50, Louis Floyd21:16, Ann Lee139
9 March 19855K15:46, Mike Mead19:54, Donna Duty179
9 March 19865K15:31, Mike Mead19:36, Donna Duty198
14 March 19875K15:20, Lee Fidler19:36, Donna Duty158
12 March 19885K15:53, John Devine18:59, Janice Hochstein151
11 March 19895K14:59, Matt Parker17:03, Kim Byrd178
10 March 19905K15:05, Matt Parker19:47, Donna Duty152
9 March 19915K15:36, Matt Parker18:29, Connie Robertson130
14 March 19925K14:52, Paul Waldron20:09, Janice Hochstein102
15 May 1993*5K16:54, Myles Gibson20:22, Donna Duty65
12 March 19945K16:51, Scott Hoxie18:32, Connie Robertson97
11 March 19955K16:54, Dale Thomas19:19, Connie Robertson105
No race held, 1996-2011
3 September 20125K18:27, Jonathon Davison23:13, Debra Hunter87
13 July 20135K17:34, Chase Harris21:14, Paige Braswell88
19 July 20145K18:12, Myles Gibson23:24, Margaret Winkler103
11 July 20155K18:10, Myles Gibson23:02, Margaret Winkler107
9 July 20165K17:07, Patrick Whitehead19:14, Sheryl Rosen90
21 January 201710K36:24, Patrick Whitehead54:43, Katie Sheppard33
5K19:23, Trevor Cleveland20:23, Alli Hay58
20 January 201810K35:59, Patrick Whitehead41:32, Ann Centner26
5K19:20, Alan Flores24:17, Carolyn Houston71
19 January 201910K31:41, Antonio Marchi41:22, Vivianna Schuyler
5K18:50, Michael Martinez23:24, Debra Hunter
* The 1993 race was originally scheduled for March 13, but was one of several races in the region
that day postponed by a severe winter storm

A huge "thank you" to Larry Dykes of the Dothan Runners for his help in filling many blanks in
the above history


No comments:

Post a Comment