Sunday, January 27, 2019

Brad Busboom and Lisa Johnson launch the 10K at the Trent

The Trent isn’t a new event. It was first run in 2009 at Roberts Elementary School, northeast of Tallahassee, Florida. But on a chilly Saturday morning, 26 January 2019, the event got a new name and a new race. It also got a new champion when Brad Busboom won the 10K at the tenth annual Trent, covering the new 6.2-mile course in 37:37. Lisa Johnson was the first woman in the race, coming in fifth overall in 40:07.

Brad Busboom
Brad Busboom

Shortly after the 8:30 AM start at Roberts Elementary, Myles Gibson, a Donalsonville, Georgia master runner, was leading the 10K. A mile into the race Gibson was still in front as the athletes galloped through the Dublin Downs community, but three Tallahassee men were just a few steps behind him--master runner Tony Guillen, Corey Osgood, and Brad Busboom.

Myles Gisbon
Myles Gisbon

Busboom didn’t stay behind. On the hilly roads of Dublin Downs he took command of the race, ultimately building up a lead of more than a hundred meters. When Busboom crossed the finish line back at the school in a winning 37:37, Gibson and Osgood were still in a fight for second. Their battle went to the final meter of the 10,000-meter race, where Osgood barely beat Gibson, both runners clocked in 38:04. A few seconds later, Guillen finished fourth in 38:19.

Corey Osgood
Corey Osgood

From first place to fourth, the top men were spread out over less than 200 meters. The women’s competition wasn’t that close; Lisa Johnson never had to look back. Leading from wire to wire, Johnson was more than a thousand meters ahead of the next woman in the 10K when she crossed the finish line in 40:07. Cecilia Bouaichi was runner-up in the women's standings, placing eleventh overall in 45:01. Nikky Manausa was the third woman and twelfth overall in 45:20. Sarah Samford was the first woman master and ninth female finisher, 28th overall in 51:18.

Lisa Johnson
Lisa Johnson

Top Ten Men, 2019 Trent 10K
  1. 37:37, Brad Busboom (M, 31)
  2. 38:04, Corey Osgood (M, 22)
  3. 38:04, Myles Gibson (M, 52)
  4. 38:19, Tony Guillen (M, 50)
  5. 42:14, Zack Scharlepp (M, 36)
  6. 43:07, Tristan Lanasa (M, 25)
  7. 44:32, Chase Campbell (M, 33)
  8. 44:50, Jon Nash (M, 39)
  9. 44:54, Owen Franklin (M, 14)
  10. 46:23, Gary Johnston (M, 44)

Top Ten Women, 2019 Trent 10K
  1. 40:07, Lisa Johnson (F, 37)
  2. 45:01, Cecilia Bouaichi (F, 23)
  3. 45:20, Nikky Manausa (F, 37)
  4. 47:17, Jordana Kimelman (F, 22)
  5. 49:37, Monica Toth (F, 30)
  6. 49:46, Emily Culley (F, 18)
  7. 49:46, Caitlin Wilkey (F, 16)
  8. 50:37, Sara Roxin (F, 22)
  9. 51:18, Sarah Samford (F, 41)
  10. 52:25, Beth Culley (F, 53)

Lisa Johnson was also the first woman at the Trent in 2014, back when it was called the Red Fox Trot. Corey Osgood had been the overall winner in 2018, by which time the race was called the Trent Trot. Both of those years, as in each of the first nine editions of the race, the distance had been 5K. The 10K was added in 2019 when the event shortened its name to the Trent, but there was still a 5K race at the tenth annual Trent, run concurrently with the longer race.

Zach DeVeau
Zach DeVeau

The two races were also on the same course in the early going. Zach DeVeau, the 5K leader, ran with the fastest 10K runners for the first two kilometers, with master runner Michael Martinez following closely. DeVeau broke contact with Martinez during the second half of the race, going on to win the 5K in 18:25. Martinez took second in 19:01. Jackson Rowe, a seventh-grader on the cross-country team at nearly Montford Middle School, placed third in 19:50.

Kate Chunka
Kate Chunka

Kate Chunka was the top woman in the 5K, placing eleventh overall in 23:09. Sixth-grader Sophia Youngberg, another Montford cross-country runner, was second in the women's standings and thirteenth overall in 23:18. Rasheda Brumfield was the first woman master and third female finisher in the 5K, fourteenth overall in 23:24.

123 athletes finished the inaugural 10K at the 2019 Trent, and another 229 completed the 5K. 239 finished a one-mile fun run. Gulf Winds Track Club chip-timed all three races.

Top Ten Men, 2019 Trent 5K
  1. 18:25, Zach Deveau (M, 31)
  2. 19:01, Michael Martinez (M, 53)
  3. 19:50, Jackson Rowe (M, 12)
  4. 21:01, Lucas Mauch (M, 14)
  5. 21:15, Robbie Stewart (M, 17)
  6. 22:11, Dan Manausa (M, 49)
  7. 22:26, Trey Crowley (M, 22)
  8. 22:32, Jonah Blay (M, 13)
  9. 22:58, Ben Betts (M, 49)
  10. 23:01, Allen Blay (M, 48)

Top Ten Women, 2019 Trent 5K
  1. 23:09, Kate Chunka (F, 35)
  2. 23:18, Sophia Youngberg (F, 11)
  3. 23:24, Rasheda Brumfield (F, 40)
  4. 24:39, Madison Sims (F, 11)
  5. 25:42, Kelly Whalon (F, 46)
  6. 26:17, Caroline Cummings (F, 14)
  7. 26:19, Rylee Fowler (F, 10)
  8. 26:28, Lauren Wilkey (F, 15)
  9. 26:29, Chloe McElroy (F, 13)
  10. 27:03, Gina Hernandez (F, 28)

Trent Trot 5K winners, 2009 - 2019
17 October 20095K17:29, Tony Guillen22:22, Cora Atkinson148
29 January 20115K19:13, Cole Tessier20:48, Laura Hanlon199
28 January 20125K17:00, Trevor Touchton20:19, Laura Hanlon208
19 January 20135K16:10, Stanley Linton19:36, Micah Adriani268
25 January 20145K17:53, Peter Kaus19:16, Lisa Johnson206
24 January 20155K16:19, Chris Lake18:49, Seeley Gutierrez574
23 January 20165K17:26, Matt Nazareth19:36, Katie Sherron554
28 January 20175K16:42, Mark Zamani20:31, Caitlin Wilkey408
27 January 20185K18:51, Corey Osgood20:37, Caitlin Wilkey366
26 January 201910K37:37, Brad Busboom40:07, Lisa Johnson123
5K18:25, Zach Deveau23:09, Kate Chunka229
From 2009 to 2014 the race was named the Red Fox Trot 5K. In 2015 the name was
changed to the Trent Trot.

In 2012 the 5K course became USATF certified (FL11132EBM).

In 2019 the 10K race was inaugurated on USATF-certified course FL18057TY.


No comments:

Post a Comment