Tuesday, June 6, 2017

When Sean Kent is a repeat winner, he's really a repeat winner

Brian Dowling Memorial 5K RunHere's a story that has an eerie, time-travel feeling to it. Maybe the SyFy channel would be interested.

A runner wins a cross-country race in his hometown, finishing 31 seconds ahead of the next runner. It's an annual race, but he doesn't return the next year, or the next. The years roll by. Then, after a six-year absence, he returns to the race and wins again, by the same 31 second margin. His time is even the same both years. Is he caught in a time loop? Are we caught in a time loop?

The runner was Sean Kent and the race was the Brian Dowling Memorial 5K Trail Race in Dothan, Alabama during 2011 and 2017. Admittedly, Kent didn't log exactly the same winning times both years; he ran 18:50 in 2011 and 18:49 in 2017. Or maybe his performances actually were the same, and the one-second difference is a timing error.


Sean Kent did win the 17th annual Brian Dowling 5K in Westgate Park on Saturday morning, 3 June 2017, though. And although he was a junior on the Northview High cross-country team when he ran the race in 2011, in 2017 Kent's win came just three weeks after he ran his last race for Troy University, a 10:28.89 in the 3000-meter steeplechase at the Sun Belt Conference Championships. There was no loop; time marches on.

Jason Teitloff was second in the Dowling 5K, running 19:20. Will Scott, a rising-sophomore on the Headland High cross-country team, placed third in 21:21. Dale Thomas was the first master runner, placing fourth overall in 21:37. Thomas was also in that 2011 race.

Charlotte Haberstroh was the first woman in the race, placing tenth overall in 26:43. Kristi Holland was the top woman master and second female finisher, thirteenth overall in 27:29. Master runner Carol Goguen placed third in the women's standings and 22nd overall in 32:11.

41 athletes finished the 2017 Brian Dowling Memorial 5K Trail Race. The event has been presented annually by the Dothan Runners Club since 2001.

Top Ten Men, 2017 Brian Dowling Memorial 5K Trail Race
  1. 18:49, Sean Kent (M, 21)
  2. 19:20, Jason Teitloff (M, 35)
  3. 21:21, Will Scott (M, 14)
  4. 21:37, Dale Thomas (M, 53)
  5. 22:01, Trevor Shaw (M, 15)
  6. 23:16, Charles Uptain (M, 40)
  7. 24:33, Patrick Childers (M, 43)
  8. 24:51, Bruce Hall (M, 49)
  9. 26:14, Greg Wellman (M, 30)
  10. 26:43, Phillip Dixon (M, 35)

Top Ten Women, 2017 Brian Dowling Memorial 5K Trail Race
  1. 26:43, Charlotte Haberstroh (F, 27)
  2. 27:29, Kristi Holland (F, 40)
  3. 32:11, Carol Goguen (F, 55)
  4. 33:07, Sutherlin Williams (F, 13)
  5. 34:09, Susan Anderson (F, 54)
  6. 36:09, Stephanie Jetton (F, 29)
  7. 36:20, Rene Jordan (F, 52)
  8. 37:28, Julia Moss (F, 32)
  9. 41:21, Jennifer Lewis (F, 47)
  10. 41:23, Laney Gresco (F, 12)

Past winners of the Brian Dowling Memorial 5K, 2001 - 2017
7 April 200120:05, Jerry Armstrong24:08, Piper Stockman
13 April 200219:12, Jonathan Braun21:57, Piper Stockman
12 April 200318:58, Shane Gingrich24:04, Chris Fox
1 May 200418:59, Douglas Holt24:19, Amy Padgett
7 May 200519:12, Brian Hickey22:21, Teresa Lafleur
6 May 200618:39, Matt Fechan23:24, Lou Ellen Jayroe
28 April 200718:13, Gabe Mitchell23:08, In-Mi Matsunaga
17 May 200818:44, Zalin Smith23:20, Lou Ellen Jayroe
25 April 200919:08, Nick Vance26:06, Kristina Bennett
22 May 201019:10, Theron Carter24:35, Amber Hodor
23 April 201118:50, Sean Kent20:46, Megan Howell
7 April 201220:05, Jeff Dasinger24:40, Abby Rogers
18 May 201321:00, Justin Cagle24:21, Carolyn Houston
10 May 201420:32, Dale Thomas24:45, CJ Parrish
16 May 201518:26, Myles Gibson24:25, CJ Parish
21 May 201621:17, Michael Warner23:12, Natalie Warner
3 June 201718:49, Sean Kent26:43, Charlotte Haberstroh
In 2000 Dothan Runners Club member Brian Dowling was killed
during a training run, struck by a hit-and-run driver. The
Woofstock 5K was started in his memory in 2001. In 2002 DRC
officially renamed the race the Brian Dowling Memorial 5K.

Kudos and a big thank you to Larry Dykes for much of the
information in this table!