Monday, April 30, 2018

Vince Molosky and Katie Sherron add to their Indianhead victories at Nene Fest

Vince Molosky was on familiar ground at the fifth annual Nene Fest 5K, even though he had never run the race before.

The Nene Fest 5K has always been run on the same course through Tallahassee, Florida's Indianhead Acres neighborhood as Gulf Winds Track Club's Women's Distance Festival--a September event that Molosky has raced frequently over the years. In 2010 Molosky won the men's 5K at the Women's Distance Festival, running 16:34. More recently, he ran 17:21 in the 2017 WDF 5K, placing third in the men's standings. So on Saturday morning, 28 April 2018, it was just another fast turn around Indianhead for Molosky when he won the Nene Fest 5K in 17:02. Katie Sherron had even more experience on the Indianhead course, having won the Women's Distance Festival in both 2015 and 2017; she also came into the 2018 Nene Fest 5K as the defending women's champion. She successfully repeated, running 19:16 to finish as the first woman and seventh overall.

Vince Molosky, Katie Sherron
2018 Nene Fest 5K winners

Up front, Chris O'Kelley finished the Nene Fest in 17:07, just a few steps behind Molosky. Seven month earlier at the 2017 Women's Distance Festival, the margin betweeen O'Kelley and Molosky had been about the same, but in that earlier race O'Kelley had been ahead, 17:17 to 17:21. Ryan Truchelut edged Brad Busboom for third in the Nene Fest, 17:45 to 17:48, and Kurt Dietrich was fifth in 18:02. Jim Halley, the 2017 Nene Fest 5K winner, took sixth in 18:42. Paul Guyas was the top master runner in the race and the ninth male finisher, placing tenth overall in 19:42.

Brittney Barnes, racing her first Nene Fest but not her first run on the Indianhead course, was second in the women's standings and fifteenth overall in 21:10. Angela Dempsey was the first woman master and third female finisher, twentieth overall in 21:42. A few ticks after Dempsey crossed the finish line, Monica Toth came in as the fourth woman and 22nd overall in 21:46.

159 athletes finished the 2018 Nene Fest 5K. Gulf Winds Track Club of Tallahassee chip-timed the race.

Top Ten Men, 2018 Nene Fest 5K
  1. 17:02, Vince Molosky (M, 38)
  2. 17:07, Chris O'Kelley (M, 25)
  3. 17:45, Ryan Truchelut (M, 32)
  4. 17:48, Brad Busboom (M, 30)
  5. 18:02, Kurt Dietrich (M, 26)
  6. 18:42, Jim Halley (M, 38)
  7. 19:25, Don Smith (M, 38)
  8. 19:34, Zach Deveau (M, 30)
  9. 19:42, Paul Guyas (M, 40)
  10. 19:54, Duane Evans (M, 50)

Top Ten Women, 2018 Nene Fest 5K
  1. 19:16, Katie Sherron (F, 36)
  2. 21:10, Brittney Barnes (F, 30)
  3. 21:42, Angela Dempsey (F, 49)
  4. 21:46, Monica Toth (F, 29)
  5. 22:21, Kenya Rich (F, 45)
  6. 22:42, Laura Reina (F, 53)
  7. 22:47, Nancy Proctor (F, 57)
  8. 23:20, Hannah Norcini (F, 26)
  9. 23:22, Paula O'Neill (F, 56)
  10. 23:37, Kristin Halley (F, 36)

Nene Fest 5K winners, 2014 - 2018
3 May 201418:24, Reikan Lin22:02, Paula O' Neill
9 May 201515:49, Chris Lake22:28, Paula O'Neill84
30 April 201616:26, Matt Mizereck23:36, Laura Reina86
29 April 201717:57, Jim Halley21:39, Katie Sherron88
28 April 201817:02, Vince Molosky19:16, Katie Sherron159


No comments:

Post a Comment